Sanctions policy


Displaying 1 - 10 of 49

On 5 July 2018, the Council prolonged economic sanctions targeting specific sectors of the Russian economy until 31 January 2019.


On 25 June 2018, the Council decided to put 11 individuals holding official positions under restrictive measures. The persons listed are responsible for human rights violations and for undermining democracy and the rule of law in Venezuela. The measures include a travel ban and an asset freeze.

On 14 June, the Council transposed into EU law sanctions adopted by the United Nations on 7 June, imposing a travel ban and an asset freeze on six human traffickers and smugglers operating in Libya, four of Libyan nationality and two of Eritrean nationality. The individuals targeted by the sanctions are key figures in human trafficking and migrant smuggling activities in and around Libya.

The Council added five persons to the list of those subject to restrictive measures over actions undermining or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine.

The EU and Japan have concluded negotiations on a Strategic Partnership Agreement. Complementing the new economic deal agreed in December liberalising trade, the political deal aims to facilitate common solutions to common challenges, such as climate change, energy supply and threats to security. It will help the EU and Japan to jointly promote peace, stability and prosperity globally, as well as an open international system.


The Council added four persons to the list of those subject to the restrictive measures against the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK). These restrictive measures consist of a travel ban and an asset freeze. The four individuals have been involved in deceptive financial practices which are suspected of contributing to the DPRK's nuclear-related, ballistic-missile-related or other weapons of mass destruction-related programmes.


On 12 April 2018, the Council extended until 13 April 2019 its restrictive measures responding to serious human rights violations in Iran.

The European Union on Sunday strongly condemned the suspected use of illegal chemical weapons in an attack by the Syrian regime which killed at least 40 civilians in Douma, a suburb of Damascus in the Eastern Ghouta area. The EU has called for an immediate response by the international community.


The Council has added one person and 21 entities to the list of those subject to restrictive measures against the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK), transposing into EU law sanctions imposed by the UN Security Council (UNSC) Committee established by UNSC resolution 1718 (2006). These restrictive measures consists of a travel ban and an asset freeze for individuals and an asset freeze for entities. It has also transposed the asset freeze targeting 15 vessels, the port entry ban on 25 vessels and the de-flagging of 12 vessels.


On 26-27 March, EU High Representative Mogherini is in Uzbekistan to open the international Tashkent Conference on Afghanistan: "Peace process, security cooperation and regional connectivity". The conference brings together Afghanistan, the five Central Asian countries, the United Nations and other stakeholders to support peace-making efforts in the country, as well as local and regional development.