Nuclear Safety

About the EU Delegation to Guyana, for Suriname, and with responsibility for Aruba, Bonaire, Curacao, Saba, Saint Barthelemy, Sint Eustatius and Sint Maarten

11/05/2016 - 17:47
About us - structure and organisation

Delegation of the European Union to Guyana, Suriname and for the Dutch Overseas Countries and Territories

The Delegation of the European Union in Guyana is part of the European External Action Service (EEAS) and is one of the more than 139 Delegations of the European Union in the world.

The Delegation in Guyana was established in December 1972 following the signature of the First Lomé Convention.

The Delegation represents the European Union in all matters of its competence. It actively promotes the values and policies of the European Union, in an open and equal partnership with the Governments and people of the countries to which it is accredited. It plays a key role in the implementation of the EU’s cooperation programmes and trade policies focussing on poverty reduction and the smooth and gradual integration of the countries into the world economy.

Following the entering into force of the EU Lisbon Treaty in December 2009, the Delegation as part of the EEAS has now assumed the role of representing, coordinating and negotiating on behalf of the European Union in the countries to which it is accredited. The Head of Delegation, who has ambassadorial rank in his host countries, reports to the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy Federica Mogherini, who is also a Vice President of the European Commission.

The EU Delegation works closely with EU Member States represented in the host countries. The task of the Delegation, beyond the representation of Community interests, is one of co-ordination and co-operation with these missions. The United Kingdom (Guyana), France (Suriname), the Netherlands (Suriname), are those EU Member States who have embassies in the countries to which this Delegation is accredited, though many more are represented by Honorary Consuls.

Dear Visitor,

Welcome to the website of the Delegation of the European Union in Guyana.

Our Delegation represents the European Union in 8 countries and territories in the region. These include Guyana and Suriname as well as six Overseas Countries and Territories (OCTs) belonging to the Kingdom of the Netherlands, namely Aruba, Bonaire, Curaçao, Saba, St. Eustatius and St. Maarten.

Guyana has enjoyed close political and economic relations with Europe since December 8, 1972. In the following decades the process of European integration has brought a constant enhancement of the political and economic relationships between the country and what is now the European Union.

The European Commission established its Delegation in Guyana following the signature of the First Lomé Convention, to facilitate the implementation of the programmes foreseen under the Convention and to represent, together with the embassies and consulates of the EU Member States, the European institutions in the country. With the entry into force of the Lisbon Treaty on the 1 December 2009, the Delegation of the European Commission officially became the Delegation of the European Union. This change aims at increasing coherence of action of the European Union in all aspects of its external relations.

The European Union is not only a key political and trade partner for Guyana but through its development cooperation programmes also the country's largest donor and grant partner for development and the only partner providing grant aid for the rehabilitation of Guyana's vulnerable sea defences which remain critical to the country's development.

I trust this website will bring the work of this Delegation and the policies of the European Union in general closer to the public in Guyana and beyond.

You can also get connected with us on Facebook.

Jernej Videtič
Ambassador/Head of Delegation

Head of Delegation 
Ambassador Jernej Videtič

Head of Political, Press & Information Section 
Philippe Coessens

Head of Cooperation
Karel Lizerot
Head of Administration
Kamiel Janssen