EU Global Strategy

Europe Day 2020: Celebrations in Indonesia

08/05/2020 - 19:57
News stories

9 May 2020 - Europe Day - we will celebrate a historic European milestone that made the EU what it is today: 70 years of the Schuman Declaration. Stay tuned for special Europe Day events throughout May to enjoy from home!

 

Europe Day traces its origins to 9 May 1950, when French Foreign Minister Robert Schuman presented his historic proposal for an integrated European coal and steel community, indispensable to the maintenance of peaceful relations. This proposal, known as the "Schuman Declaration," is considered to be the founding document of what is now the European Union.

Every year in May, the EU institutions in Europe as well as its offices all over the world organise a variety of activities for all ages to celebrate Europe Day and raise awareness about the EU.

This year’s celebrations come amid the backdrop of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). In keeping with the social distancing measures that are necessary to prevent the spread of COVID-19, online events will replace “traditional” Europe Day celebrations. We may not be able to share physical spaces but we can still be together virtually.

Virtual Europe Day 2020 - From our home to yours!

Follow #EuropeDay #TogetherweareEUrope and #HariEropa2020 on social media.

 

 

Webinar series “Study in Europe and Scholarships Information Day”
Date: From 4 to 19 May 2020
Time: 15:00-16:00 pm Jakarta time (GMT+7)

Find out more HERE

 

 

Europe Day 2020 Online Concert: NusantEro Big Band
Date: 5, 7 and 9 May 2020
Time: 17:00 pm Jakarta time (GMT+7)

Find out more HERE

 

Webinar on “EU Green Deal and the relevance for Indonesian and European businesses”

Date: Wednesday, 13 May 2020
Time: 15:00 WIB (10:00 CET)

Register at https://bit.ly/WebinarGreenDeal  by 12 May 2020 at 13:00 WIB (08:00 CET)

Editorial Sections: