EU Enlargement & Neighbourhood


Displaying 1 - 10 of 47

Federica Mogherini, High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy/Vice-President of the European Commission, met today in Brussels with Stevo Pendarovski, President of North Macedonia. This was the first meeting between High Representative Mogherini and President Pendarovski since his election as President of North Macedonia on 5 May. By choosing Brussels for his first official visit, President Pendarovski demonstrated his strong commitment to the European Union integration.

Confirming that a credible enlargement policy is a geostrategic investment in peace, stability, security and economic growth in the whole of Europe, the Commission adopted its annual assessment of the implementation of reforms in the Western Balkan partners and Turkey, together with recommendations on the next steps for those countries.


Ukraine is a priority partner for the European Union. The EU supports Ukraine in ensuring a stable, prosperous and democratic future for its citizens, and is unwavering in its support for Ukraine’s independence, territorial integrity and sovereignty. The Association Agreement, including its Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area, is the main tool for bringing Ukraine and the EU closer together,
promoting deeper political ties, stronger economic links and respect for common values. Since spring 2014, Ukraine has embarked on an ambitious reform programme, aiming to stabilise its economy and improve the livelihoods of its citizens. Priority reforms include the fight against corruption, reform of the judiciary, constitutional and electoral reforms, improvement of the business climate and energy efficiency, as well as reform of public administration, including decentralisation. Since 2014, the EU and the European Financial Institutions have mobilised a package of more than €14 billion in grants and loans to support the reform process, with strong conditionality on continued progress.

Statement by High Representative/Vice-President Federica Mogherini and Commissioner Johannes Hahn on the notification by the Republic of North Macedonia


One hundred Young European Ambassadors from the European Union and its six Eastern partner countries (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Republic of Moldova and Ukraine) have gathered on 14-15 February in Brussels to celebrate the achievements of the Eastern Partnership (EaP) in the past decade.


EU-Belarus Coordination Group met for the sixth time

Federica Mogherini and Johannes Hahn in Ankara for the High Level Political Dialogue


The European Union is supporting Albania’s efforts to provide quality public services for its citizens and move closer to European good administration practices.