## **APPLYING FOR A SCHENGEN VISA**

**NEW VISA RULES:** Please read the important information in the link, which supplements

#### the information below: <u>new\_eu\_visa\_rules\_questions\_and\_answers.pdf</u>

The Schengen Visa holder can travel to any of the 26 countries using one single visa, thus avoiding the hassle and expense of obtaining individual visas for each country. The Schengen countries are: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lichtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and three non-EU member states: Iceland, Norway and Switzerland.

In order for applicants to know in which European Embassy they need to apply for a Schengen visa, they need to determine the main destination of their journey. The main destination is determined by the purpose of the applicants visit:

## For example:

- If the applicant intends to travel for holidays to a number of Schengen countries for equal amount of days, the main destination is the country of point of entry;
- If the applicant intends to travel for holidays to a number of Schengen countries but stay in one country longer than the other, the main destination is the country in which the applicant stays the longest period of time;
- If the applicant intends to visit a Schengen country for a particular purpose (*e.g. sports, culture*) then the main destination is the country in which the purpose is to be fulfilled independent of whether other countries are visited first or for a longer period of time.

Applicants may apply for a Schengen visa at the following European Embassies in Port of Spain:

- If the main destination is Estonia, Germany, Italy or Portugal: please apply at the Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany;
- If the main destination is Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Hungary, the Netherlands, Luxemburg, Norway, Poland or Sweden: please apply at the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands;
- If the main destination is France or Spain: please apply at the Embassy of the Kingdom of Spain;

Travellers to Austria, Czech Republic, Greece, Latvia, Lichtenstein, Lithuania, Slovakia, Slovenia and Switzerland need to consult with the respective Ministries of Foreign Affairs of these countries in order to obtain further information.

The EU member states that are not in the Schengen area, or are yet to implement the Schengen Regulation are Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland and Romania. Short stay visitors to Ireland should check with the relevant authorities of that country to determine whether or not they need a visa.

Travellers who wish to travel to Cyprus and are holders of a valid Schengen Visa (type C, single, double or multiple entries) and who have already entered Schengen territory according to the stipulations governing the issuance of the Schengen Visa they hold, can travel to Cyprus without acquiring a Cypriot Visa. They can stay in the Republic of Cyprus for the duration of a period equal to the remainder of the period of legal stay as stated on their Schengen Visa and at the latest until the expiration date of their visa.

Travellers to Bulgaria, Croatia and Romania are advised to contact the respective Ministries of Foreign Affairs for information on how to obtain a short stay visa.

# Additional information regarding Schengen visa requirements

#### Information for citizens of other countries who legally reside in Trinidad and Tobago:

Applicants applying for a Schengen visa are required to comply with the EU Visa Information System (VIS). The VIS is a system for the exchange of data on short-stay visas between Schengen States and it is being progressively deployed, region by region, until all Schengen States' consultes worldwide are connected.

A simple and discreet procedure is carried out directly at the Embassy and only takes a few minutes. Visa applicants who are non-nationals and resident in Trinidad and Tobago will have to provide their biometric data (a digital photograph and 10 fingerprint scans). Such biometric data, along with the data provided in the Schengen visa application form, will be recorded in the VIS central database. The recourse to biometric technology will protect visa applicants better against identity theft and prevent false identifications, which in certain cases lead to refusal of visa or entry to a person who is entitled to enter.

Visa applicants will only have to provide such biometric data every 5 years. During this 5year period, the fingerprints will be copied from the first visa application, so that frequent travellers will only have to complete the procedure once within this period.

Exemptions from the obligation of fingerprinting are provided for the following categories of applicants only:

- Children under 12,
- Persons for whom the collection of fingerprints is physically impossible;
- Heads of State or government and members of a national government with accompanying spouses, and the members of their official delegation when they are invited by Member States' governments or by international organisations for an official purpose.

For more information, please click on the visa policy link below. http://ec.europa.eu/dgs/home-affairs/what-we-do/policies/borders-and-visas/index\_en.htm