European Union External Action



Displaying 75561 - 75570 of 83316

EUCAP Sahel Mali est une mission civile de l'Union européenne avec son siège à Bamako, au Mali. Ses opérations ont été lancées le 15 janvier 2015, à la suite d'une invitation officielle du gouvernement malien à aider les forces de sécurité intérieure à réaffirmer l'autorité du gouvernement sur l'ensemble du pays, suite à la «crise du Nord du Mali» qui a laissé une grande partie du pays sous de contrôle de diverses factions.


Engagement de l'UE dans cette zone géographique


EUCAP Sahel Mali is a European Union civilian mission based in Bamako, Mali. It was launched on 15 January 2015, following an official invitation by the Malian government to assist the internal security forces with reasserting the government's authority over the whole of the country, following the 'Northern Mali Crisis' that left large parts of the country under the control of various factions.


EU engagement in this geographical area


The Sahel has a prominent place in European Union policy. Europe has numerous interests in the region, ranging from combating security threats, terrorism, organised crime and illegal migration to assuring energy security.


EU Ambassador H.E Franz Jessen will inaugurate the Mindanao Collective Trademark System on 21 June in Park Inn, Davao City.

He will join Mindanao Development Authority (MinDA) Secretary Luwalhati Antonino and business groups in Mindanao in launching the Mindanao Collective Trademark System.

6 - 8 June 2016: COAFR visit to South Africa

The EU Delegation to SA this week had the privilege to host COAFR on their visit to the country. COAFR is the European Council's committee responsible for the management of the European Union's external policy towards sub-Saharan Africa, including its 46 countries, the African Union and other sub-regional organisations. The visiting delegation was honoured to be received by South Africa's Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng at the Constitutional Court of SA. Subsequently they were given a briefing by the South African Human Rights Commission's Adv Mohamed Ameermia.

Economic Partnership Agreement with Southern African countries

Ahead of the signing of the southern African Economic Partnership Agreement, EU Trade Commissioner Cecilia Malmström met up with her counterparts from Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Swaziland. The ‪#‎EPA‬ is significant as it is the first trade deal that directly supports the economic integration of a specific region.

The Council adopted the following conclusions at the EMPLOYMENT, SOCIAL POLICY, HEALTH and CONSUMER AFFAIRS Council meeting of 10 March 2014, Brussels, Belgium.

Signing of the Economic Partnership Agreement, Kasane, Botswana

The Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA) between trade partners Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland and the European Union was signed this morning by trade representatives in Kasane, Botswana. The Agreement is the first of its kind between the EU and an African region pursuing the objective of economic integration. The agreement was signed by European Commissioner for Trade Cecilia Malmström, on behalf of the EU.