European Union External Action

Countries in focus

06/06/2015 - 13:29
EU relations with Region

EU relations with the Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Republic of Marshall Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu and the four European Overseas Territories and Countries in the Pacific.

The Pacific region consists of 15 states with a combined area of 528.000 km² and a vast Exclusive Economic Zone of 20 million km². Key challenges are related to the low lying nature of some of the islands that make them highly vulnerable to climate change, small populations, vast distances between the countries, and a strong dependence on fossil fuels.

Read more about the relations between the EU and the Pacific region