European Union External Action

The European Union’s Partnership with the G5 Sahel Countries

Bruxelles, 09/07/2019 - 11:24, UNIQUE ID: 160622_8

Why is the EU working with Africa's “G5 Sahel Countries”?

In 2014, Burkina Faso, Chad, Mali, Mauritania, and Niger set up the “G5 Sahel” group of countries to foster close cooperation in the region and tackle the major challenges that these countries face. Since then, the EU has stepped up cooperation with this African-led initiative to build a strong partnership on many fronts: from political dialogue, to development and humanitarian support, to strengthening security and tackling irregular migration.

Click on the image to read the factsheet on the European Union’s partnership with the G5 Sahel countries: