• Current language: en

European Union External Action

EOM Focal points

Each EU Member State has a Focal Point for election observation related matters, either within their own Ministry of Foreign Affairs or in a related external agency.  The Focal Points are responsible for the recruitment and proposal of their own country’s candidates for selection as Short-Term and Long-Term Observers to EU Election Observation Missions.

You will find their contact details in the table below:

AUSTRIA
Mr Georg Christian Lack
Federal Ministry for Europe, Integration and Foreign Affairs 
Department I.7.
Human Rights
Minoritenplatz 8
A-1014 Vienna
Austria
Tel: +43-501150-3767
Email:
beobachtungsmission@bmeia.gv.at
georg- christian.lack@bmeia.gv.at

BELGIUM
Mr Denis Valois
PFS Foreign Affairs
S3.1 Conflict Prevention and Peace Building
Desk
Rue des Petits Carmes / Karmelietenstraat 15
B-1000 Brussels
Tel: +32 2 501 89 57
Email:
observateurs.ue@diplobel.fed.be
waarnemers.eu@diplobel.fed.be


BULGARIA
Ms Lila Georgieva
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Bulgaria
Human Resources Directorate
2, Alexander Jendov Str.
1113 Sofia
Bulgaria
Tel: +359 2 948 2845
Email: lila.georgieva@mfa.bg

CANADA
Ms Nadine Thwaites
Canadian Mission to the European Union
Avenue des Arts 58
1000 Brussels
Tel: + 32 2 741 06 69
Emails: nadine.thwaites@international.gc.ca

CROATIA
Ms Ivana Lončar Pavlinić
Department for Human Rights and International regional organizations and initiatives
Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs
Republic of Croatia
Trg N. Š. Zrinjskog 7-8
Zagreb 10 000
Croatia
Tel: +3851 4569 841
Email: ivana.loncar-pavlinic@mvep.hr

CYPRUS
Ms Eleni APEYITOU
Department of Multilateral Relations and International Organizations (C1)
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Presidential Palace Avenue 1447 Nicosia, Cyprus
Tel: +357 22 651 143
Email: eapeyitou@mfa.gov.cy

CZECH REPUBLIC
Mr Jan Kaminek
Ms

Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Dep. for Human Rights
Loretanske namesti 5
11800 Praha 1
Czech Republic
Tel: +420 224 18 3236 / +420 734 36 2629 /
+420 224 18 2756 / +420 224 18 2739 /
+420 224 18 3371
Email: jan_kaminek@mzv.cz
jan_latal@mzv.cz
nkm@mzv.cz


DENMARK
Mr Anders Skovsø (MFA)
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Stabilisation and Security Policy
Asiatisk Plads 2
DK-1448 Copenhagen
Tel: +45 33 92 06 23 / +45 50778666  /
Fax: +45 24 69 06 32
Email: fsb-niras@niras.dk, ssp@um.dk, andcl@um.dk

Ms Anna Cecilie Varnild (NIRAS/FSB)
NIRAS/FSB
Bredgade 30
3rd floor
DK-1260 Copenhagen
Tel: MFA/NIRAS +45 3392 0000 / +45 2469 0632 
Fax:MFA/NIRAS +45 3254 0533 / +45 4810 4300
Email: fsb-niras@niras.dk

ESTONIA
Ms Kirsti Toomemets
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Estonia
Personnel Development and International Personnel Policy Division
Islandi väljak 1
15049 Tallinn
Estonia
Tel: +372 6 377 181
Fax: +372 6 377 398
Email: kirsti.toomemets@mfa.ee

FINLAND
Ms May-Len Svenskberg, Ms. Tuula Cowen
Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Finland,
Unit for Security Policy and Crisis Management
Political Department
Laivastokatu 22.C
P.O.Box 420
FI-00023 Valtioneuvosto
Finland
Tel: +358 9 160 55465 /
(+358 9 160 55189)
Fax: +358 9 160 56550
Email: May-Len.Svenskberg@formin.fi
tuula.cowen@formin.fi

FRANCE
Mr Pascal Delumeau
Ministère des Affaires étrangères
Direction des Nations unies, des Organisations internationales, des Droits de l'Homme et de la Francophonie
Délégation des Fonctionnaires Internationaux
57 boulevard des Invalides
F-75700 Paris 07 SP
France
Fax: +33 1 53 69 37 99
Email:observations.electorales@diplomatie.gouv.fr

GERMANY
Ms Laura Korn
Zentrum für Internationale Friedenseinsätze (ZIF)
Ludwigkirchplatz 3-4
D-10719 Berlin
Deutschland
Tel: +49 30 5200 565 74
Email: L.Korn@zif-berlin.org
Web site: www.zif-berlin.org

GREECE
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
A6 Directorate (Northern Africa, Middle East, Iran and Iraq)
A8 Directorate (Latin America & the Caribbean)
A9 Directorate (Sub-Saharan Africa)
A10 Directorate (Asia and Oceania )
Vas. Sofias 1
GR-106 71 Athens
Tel: +30 210 368 1303 / +30 210 368 4555 / +30 210 368 2926 / +30 210 368 2004
Fax: +30 210 368 1717
Email: a06@mfa.gr
a08@mfa.gr
a09@mfa.gr
a10@mfa.gr


HUNGARY
Ms Anna BIRÓ-KEREKES, Ms Éva Császár
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Hungary
and Trade of Hungary Departement
for Security for Policy and Non- Proliferatio
Bem rkp 47.
1027 Budapest
Hungary
Tel: +361 458 1687 / +361 458 3418
Fax: +361 457 5039
Email:
elections@mfa.gov.hu
electionj@mfa.gov.hu

IRELAND
Ms Claire Coughlan, Mr John Crowe
Irish Aid | Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade 
Riverstone House
23-27 Henry Street | Limerick | Ireland
Tel: +353 61 774083 / +353 61 774088
Email: john.crowe@dfa.ie
claire.coughlan@dfa.ie


ITALY
Ms Maria Luisa Bartolucci
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Directorate General for Political and Security Affairs
European Foreign Affairs and Security Division
Piazzale della Farnesina 1
I-00194 Roma
Italia
Tel: +39 06 3691 3860
Email: bartolucciml@esteri.it

LATVIA
Ms Inga AKMENE, Ms Maija Bilsena
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Personnel Department
Kr. Valdemara street 3
LV-1395 Riga
LATVIA
Tel: +371 67 01 59 67
Email:
eu.eom.focal.point@mfa.gov.lv
inga.akmene@mfa.gov.lv
maija.bilsena@mfa.gov.lv

LITHUANIA
Ms Jolita Lancinskiene, Mr Valdas Sakalys
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Transatlantic Cooperation and Security Policy Department
International Missions and Conflict Prevention Division
J. Tumo-Vaižganto g. 2
LT-01511 Vilnius
Lithuania
Tel: +370 5 236 2428
Fax: +370 5 236 2519
Email: jolita.lancinskiene@urm.lt
Valdas.sakalys@mfa.lt


LUXEMBOURG
Mr. Laurent Weyland
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Political and European Affairs - EOM focal point
5, rue Notre-Dame
L-2240 Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Tel: +352 247 - 82314
Email: laurent.weyland@mae.etat.lu

MALTA
Mr Alessandro Giuliano
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Malta
Directorate Global Issues
Palazzo Parisio
Merchant Street
Valletta
Malta VLT1171
Tel: +356 2204 2279
Fax: +356 21 251 520
Email: alessandro.giuliano@gov.mt
election.observers@gov.mt


NORWAY
NORDEM
Norwegian Refugee Council
Prinsensgate 2 (Map)
0152 Oslo
Norway

Tel: +47 92 01 50 70
Email: nordem@nrc.no

POLAND
Ms Beata Prądzyńska
Ms Iwona Wojtczak
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Poland
Political Director`s Office
Al. J. Ch. Szucha 23
PL-00-580 Warsaw
Poland
Tel: +48 22 523 8903
Tel: +48 22 523 8138
Email:
beata.pradzynska@msz.gov.pl
iwona.wojtczak@msz.gov.pl

PORTUGAL
Mr J Luís Coelho-Silva
Ms Eunice Vasco
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Directorate-general for External Policy
Ministério dos Negócios Estrangeiros
Largo do Rilvas
P-1399-030 Lisboa
Portugal
Tel: +351 213 946 000
Email: observadores@mne.pt

ROMANIA
Ms Viorica Vasiliu
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Romania
Directorate for OSCE, Council of Europe, Human Rights, Asymmetric Risks and Nonproliferation
Aleea Alexandru nr. 31
Sector 1
011822 Bucharest
Romania
Tel: +40 21 431 11 05
Fax: +40 21 319 23 67
Email: viorica.vasiliu@mae.ro

SLOVAKIA
Ms Miriam Joklova
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Slovak Republic
Human Rights and Council of Europe Department
Hlboka cesta 2
833 36 Bratislava 37
Slovakia
Tel: +421 2 5978 3783
Email: miriam.joklova@mzv.sk

SLOVENIA
Ms Katja KRIŽNAR URBANC
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Slovenia
Prešernova ulica 25
SI-1000 Ljubljana
Slovenia
Tel: +386 1 478 2180
Fax: +386 1 478 2335
Email: katja.kriznar-urbanc@gov.si

SPAIN
Ms Isabel Menchón
Ministerio de Asuntos Exteriores y Cooperación
Oficina Derechos Humanos
Focal Point for Human Rights Defenders
Edificio Torres Ágora
Calle Serrano Galvache, 26
E-28033 Madrid
España
Tel: +34 91 379 85 72 / +34 91 379 95 94
Fax: +34 91 394 86 50
Email: isabel.menchon@mae.es

SWEDEN
Ms Sofia Hedlund
Folke Bernadotte Academy
Visiting address: Drottning Kristinas väg 37, Stockholm, Sweden
Postal address: Sandövägen 1, SE-872 64 Sandöverken, Sweden
Tel: +46 10 456 23 00
Email: Sofia.Hedlund@fba.se


SWITZERLAND
Ms Marianne Gerber, Focal Point EOM
Mr. Jost Herrmann, Deputy Focal Point EOM
Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA)
Swiss Expert Pool for Civilian Peacebuilding
Bundesgasse 32
CH-3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel: +41 58 462 37 94 / +41 58 462 61 47
Fax: +41 58 463 89 22
Web site: www.eda.admin.ch/expertenpool
Email: marianne.gmr.gerber@eda.admin.ch
jost.herrmann@eda.admin.ch


THE NETHERLANDS
Ms Betty Spijkers
Ministry of Foreign Affairs,
Human Resources Department, Unit Civilian Deployment
& Election Observation (HDPO/PM/WS- Unit CMV),
P.O. Box 20061
NL-2500 EB The Hague
The Netherlands
Tel: +31 70 348 59 70
E-mail:verkiezingen@minbuza.nl
E- mail:betty.spijkers@minbuza.nl

UNITED KINGDOM
Mr James Scarff
Foreign and Commonwealth Office
Human Rights and Democracy Department
Westminster Foundation for Democracy & Elections
Room W1.213
London SW1A 2AH
United Kingdom
Tel: +44 20 7008 3880 
Email:  james.scarff@fco.gov.uk
election.observation@wfd.org