European Union External Action

NusantEro Big Band to perform at Java Jazz Festival 2020

24/02/2020 - 04:24
News stories

NusantEro Big Band is a cultural project involving 14 European musicians and 11 Indonesian musicians


The NusantEro Big Band brings together 25 acclaimed jazz musicians (11 Indonesians and 14 Europeans from Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland), to perform:

  • on Wednesday, 26 February 2020 at 19:00 at a maiden concert at Erasmus Huis Jakarta
  • on Friday, 28 February 2020 at 18:30 at the Java Jazz Festival at JIExpo Kemayoran, Hall D2
  • on Saturday, 29 February 2020 at 17:00 at the Java Jazz Festival at JIExpo Kemayoran, Hall D1

The NusantEro Big Band will present a mix of Indonesian and European legendary compositions and authors with legacy in the jazz scene, led by music director Nita Aartsen.

NusantEro is a project supported by Delegation of the European Union to Indonesia, Embassy of Belgium in Indonesia, Embassy of Denmark Jakarta, Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany Jakarta, Embassy of Hungary Jakarta, Embassy of Italy Jakarta, Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in Indonesia, Embassy of the Republic of Poland in Jakarta, Embassy of the Slovak Republic in Jakarta, Embassy of Sweden Jakarta, and Embassy of Switzerland in Indonesia.


Read the full press release HERE


For more info on NusantEro's debut concert on 26 February 2020 at Erasmus Huis, click HERE

To attend NusantEro's concerts on 28-29 February 2020 at JIExpo Kemayoran, access the offical website of the Jakarta International BNI Java Jazz Festival.



European Musicians:

  1. Alexander, Netherlands (Vocal)
  2. Danilo Moccia, Switzerland (Trombone)
  3. Gabriel Laufer, Belgium (Percussion)
  4. Gerard Kleijn, Netherlands (Trumpet)
  5. Helga Sedli, Hungary (Violin)
  6. Kuba Skowronski, Poland (Tenor Saxophone)
  7. Martin Andersen, Denmark (Drum)
  8. Michal Tomaszczyk, Poland (Trombone)
  9. Mikele Montolli, Italy (Double Bass)
  10. Nils Janson, Sweden (Trumpet)
  11. Pablo Martinez, Spain (Trombone)
  12. Piotr Damasiewicz, Poland (Trumpet)
  13. Radovan Tariska, Slovakia (Alto Saxophone)
  14. Sven Ziebarth, Germany (Alto/Tenor Saxophone)

Indonesian Musicians:

  1. Andreas Arianto (Accordeon)
  2. Arief Darma (Vocal)
  3. Brandon Julio (Guitar)
  4. Eugen Bounty (Clarinet/Flute)
  5. Made Wardana (Kendang)
  6. Matthew Sayersz (Vocal)
  7. Nesia Ardi (Vocal)
  8. Nita Aartsen (Vocal, Piano, Music Director)
  9. Yohanes Raka (Vocal)
  10. Rega Dauna (Harmonica)
  11. Zaky Tifano (Vocal)



Editorial Sections: