European Union External Action

Ms President: Reality TV show winner announced

30/07/2019 - 15:42
News stories

Nereah Amondi Oketch of Homabay County was announced winner during the Grande Finale televised live on KTN TV

We did it! The first Ms President was finally unveiled on 31st July.

Congratulations to Ms Nereah Amondi Oketch of Homabay County, who won the title after some 26 gruelling episodes of the reality television contest. The first runner's up was Ms Umulkheir Mohammed from Garissa County. Other finalists included Ms Irene Mayaka from Nyamira County, Ms Betty Adera from Nairobi County and Ms Waruguru Kiai from Nyeri County.

The TV Series Ms President was produced by the Media Focus on Africa and the Dream Catcher Productions with funding from the European Union.

The contestants went through an extensive training course covering a wide range of topics, including peacebuilding, reconciliation, social cohesion, human rights, women’s participation, and citizen-state relationships. Women representing local organisations were trained in facilitating dialogue, and local screenings of the TV programme were organised followed by dialogue on the issues raised.

As the curtain falls on the reality television series Ms President, we at the EU continue to raise awareness on the leadership roles that women can, and should, play in politics, peace-building and empowering women and girls to become more active in political and social spheres.

Well done to the team from the Media Focus on Africa, the production team and all the women who entered the contest and Kenyans who participated and voted!

Urednički odeljci: