European Union External Action

ESDC/EaP: CSDP training programme for EaP countries

24/05/2019 - 02:00
News stories

The European Security and Defence College (ESDC) hosts specific training programmes for partner countries. Since 2013, demand-driven and tailor-made training programmes have been inaugurated for the six countries of the Eastern Partnership (EaP), namely Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine. To date, about 5 000 officials have received training on the Common Security and Defence Policy (CSDP).

CSDP training programme for EaP countries

The dedicated training programmes include three modules. The first module, an e-learning course, provides basic knowledge about the history and strategy of the European Union. The second module, a regular CSDP orientation course, focuses on the Common Security and Defence Policy, and the last module, known as a reflection seminar, highlights the main findings of modules I and II. Within this module, the participants (all of them officials from EU Member States and EaP countries) have to apply the knowledge gained in structured and facilitated discussions. The outcome of the discussions are presented in various settings (e.g. simulated press conference), which gives participants the opportunity to work on presentation styles and communication skills.

CSDP Training Programme
Skills training: Teona Surmava

All training programmes are organised by Austria, most of them co-organised with Lithuania and this year with the Romanian Presidency of the Council of the EU. Next year's training programme is envisaged to start in January 2020.

ESDC Austria MoD Rehrl
f.l.t.r.: Jochen Rehrl (ESDC), Liviu Horumbă (Romania), Carlo Natale (EUDEL), Vakhtang Makharoblishvili (Georgia), Arad Benkö (Austria), Erik Høeg (EUMM Georgia)

The reflection seminar in Tbilisi was supported by Sven Biscop (Belgium), Luiza Pufu (Romania), Elisa Norvanto (Finland), Herbert Sailer and Lukas Bittner (both Austria). Jochen Rehrl (ESDC) acted as course director. Logistical support was provided by Ms Vira Grygorenko (CECOFORMA).

Egmont Institute Sven Biscop Jochen Rehrl
Jochen Rehrl and Sven Biscop during the award ceremony supported by Luiza Pufu, Elisa Norvanto and Vira Grygorenko.
Bộ phận Biên tập:

Tác giả