European Union External Action

Joint Statement by High Representative/Vice-President Federica Mogherini and the President of the Oriental Republic of Uruguay, Tabaré Vázquez, on the inaugural meeting of the International Contact Group on Venezuela in Montevideo on 7 February 2019

Bruxelles, 03/02/2019 - 12:31, UNIQUE ID: 190203_1
Joint Statements

The Oriental Republic of Uruguay and the European Union will co-host on Thursday 7 February the inaugural meeting of the International Contact Group on Venezuela. The meeting, which will take place in Montevideo, will be held at ministerial level.


On 31 January, the European Union decided to proceed, jointly with some Latin American countries, with the setting-up of an International Contact Group [(IGC) - Terms of Reference on Venezuela. The IGC aims at contributing to create conditions for a political and peaceful process to emerge, enabling Venezuelans to determine their own future, through the holding of free, transparent and credible electionsin line with the country's Constitution.


The Contact Group will bring together the EU and eight of its Member States (France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom) and countries from Latin America (Bolivia, Costa Rica, Ecuador and Uruguay)

Editorial Sections: