European Union External Action

Who we are

The EEAS is headed by the EU’s High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy/Vice-President of the European Commission (HR/VP) Federica Mogherini.

Most of the daily work at the EEAS's headquarters is overseen by the Secretary General Helga Schmid and Deputy Secretaries General.

Five large departments cover different areas of the world – Asia-Pacific, Africa, Europe and Central Asia, the Greater Middle East and the Americas. 

For more information, see the latest EEAS organigramme.


Editorial Sections: