European Union External Action

New EAB Chair: Dr Mircea Mîndrescu

30/08/2017 - 16:56
News stories

In June 2017, the highest decision-making body of the ESDC, the Steering Committee (SC), appointed Dr Mircea Mîndrescu as the new Chair of the Executive Academic Board (EAB) for the academic years 2017/18 and 2018/19. He follows Dr Antonio Missiroli, the Director of the EU Institute for Security Studies (EUISS) in Paris.

Brigadier General (ret.) Mircea Mîndrescu, MA, PhD, is an experienced military officer whose professional expertise spans many of the most important activities in the field of defence, including operational units and formations, military educational institutions, the main bodies of the Ministry of Defence, defence planning, and politico-military diplomacy. From 2013 to 2016, he was commander of NATO's Joint Analysis and Lessons Leaned Centre in Lisbon, Portugal.
In his new post as Chair of the EAB, he will lead the ESDC body which is responsible for ensuring the quality and coherence of the college's training and education activities. The Board is composed of senior representatives from civilian and military institutes and other actors designated by Member States to support ESDC training and education activities, and the Director of the EUISS (or the Director's representative).
The first EAB meeting of the new academic year will be held on 7 September at the Albert Borschette conference facility.
Former EAB chairs (2005 – 2017):
2005 – 2006    Dr Nicole Gnessoto, Director of the EU ISS, Paris
2007 – 2009    Brigadier General (re.) Juha Pyykönen, Finnish National Defence University
2009 – 2013    Commodore Cesare Ciocca, Centre for Higher Defence Studies, Rome
2013 – 2016    Colonel Ernst Felberbauer, National Defence Academy, Vienna
2016 – 2017    Dr Antonio Missiroli, Director of the EU ISS, Paris