• Current language: en

European Union External Action

Falkland Islands and the EU

A British Overseas Territory located in the South Atlantic Ocean, east of mainland Argentina, the Falkland Islands consists of two main islands (East and West Falkland) and 778 smaller ones. They have a total land area of approximately 12, 173 km² and a population of 2,995 inhabitants. The capital is Stanley. Fisheries are the most important economic activity. The EU market is an important destination for Falkland exports, notably loligo squid.

Read more

Editorial Sections: