European Union External Action

Central Asia

17/05/2016 - 17:42
EU relations with Region

Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan are part of Central Asia

EU relations with these countries have developed further since the European Council adopted The EU and Central Asia: Strategy for a New Partnership in June 2007. This strategy has strengthened ties in all areas through:

The strategy is supported by a significant increase in EU assistance.

Since 2007 the EU and the Central Asian countries have reaffirmed their commitment to the strategy, and implementation is well under way. The EU last assessed the advances made in its June 2012 progress report, which confirmed the continuing relevance of both its strategy and the priority areas for cooperation. It also acknowledged that the region faces new and growing challenges – especially in Afghanistan - and that security issues have come to the fore in relations with the EU.

The European External Action Service has 4 delegations in Central Asia, in Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz RepublicTajikistan and Uzbekistan respectively. It also has a chargé d'affaires for Turkmenistan, while the European Commission has a regional office for humanitarian aid and civil protection in Almaty, Kazakhstan.

Editorial Sections: