European Union External Action


Displaying 11 - 20 of 6747

The Leaders held the 15th European Union – India Summit on the 15th July 2020. They endorsed this “EU-India Strategic Partnership: A Roadmap to 2025” as a common roadmap to guide joint action and further strengthen the EU-India Strategic Partnership over the next five years.

Following the virtual resumption of the Belgrade – Pristina Dialogue facilitated by the European Union on Sunday 12 July, a second high-level meeting will take place in Brussels on Thursday 16 July.

The in-person Dialogue meeting with President of Serbia Aleksandar Vučić and Prime Minister of Kosovo Avdullah Hoti will be hosted by High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy/Vice-President of the European Commission Josep Borrell accompanied by EU Special representative for the Dialogue and other Western Balkan regional issues Miroslav Lajčák.

  1. The European Union High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy and Vice President of the European Commission, Mr Josep Borrell Fontelles, and the Minister of International Relations and Cooperation of South Africa, Dr Naledi Pandor, co-chaired the 14th session of the Ministerial Political Dialogue in the context of the Strategic Partnership on 14 July 2020, by video-conference.

A faster and solid recovery relies on the empowerment of the youth. As the entire world suffers from the Covid-19 pandemic, developing regions are more exposed to its consequences. On the World Youth Skills Day, the EU acknowledges the importance of upskilling the youth to build a more prosperous future for all.

As the world’s two largest democracies, the European Union and India share a commitment to protecting and promoting human rights, a rules-based global order, effective multilateralism, sustainable development, and open trade. The 15th Summit opens a new chapter in the EU-India Strategic Partnership.

Today, the Council adopted a regulation which aims to speed up the development and the deployment of a vaccine against COVID-19 in the EU. The act provides for a temporary derogation for clinical trials with such vaccines from the prior environmental risk assessment required in the EU legislation on the deliberate release in the environment and the contained use of genetically modified organisms (GMOs).

On 14 July, the Belarusian Central Electoral Commission announced that Siarhei Cherachen, Andrei Dzmitryev, Hanna Kanapatskaya, Aliaksandr Lukashenka and Sviatlana Tsikhanouskaya were registered to stand in the Belarusian Presidential elections on 9 August.