European Union External Action

EU conference aims to bolster cybersecurity and e-Governance in Eastern Partnership countries

Bruxelles, 04/10/2017 - 09:10, UNIQUE ID: 171004_2
Press releases

Today, Estonian Presidency of the Council of the European Union will host a conference aimed at developing e-governance and enhancing cybersecurity in the European Union's Eastern partner countries. This will be followed by the second Eastern Partnership Ministerial meeting on the digital economy, on 5 October 2017 and the EU's Ministerial e-Government Conference the day after.


The "e-Partnership Conference" will take place in Tallinn and will bring together more than 150 experts and policy makers from Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine as well as the EU Member States. Participants will discuss how Eastern Partnership countries are using information and communications technology to increase the transparency of government processes. The conference will also provide an opportunity to assess the safety and security of the cyberspace across the region, and exchange ideas for improvement. A new study on e-democracy based on field research in all six partner countries is scheduled to be released at the event by the Estonian e-Governance Academy.

The launch will be live streamed here.

European Commission Vice-President for the Digital Single Market, Andrus Ansip said: “The EU continues to work closely with its Eastern partners in the digital area, focusing on promoting high-speed broadband internet to boost economies and expand e-services, creating more jobs in the digital industry and reducing roaming tariffs among the Eastern partner countries. Using digital solutions brings efficiency and transparency to governance and benefits to citizens.”

The second Eastern Partnership Ministerial meeting on the digital economy will also be held in Tallinn on the following day, 5 October 2017. During the meeting, the Ministers will sign a declaration on digital economy between the EU and the six Eastern Partnership countries. The declaration is expected to include a commitment of all parties to deepen their cooperation in six priority topics: electronic communications and infrastructure, trust and security, eTrade, digital skills, ICT innovation, and startup ecosystems and eHealth.

Finally, on 6 October 2017, the EU Ministerial e-Government Conference will take place in Tallinn. EU and EFTA Ministers will discuss further measures to ensure successful digital transformation of government and will review progress to modernise Europe's public administration to deliver service-oriented, reliable and innovative government at all levels for a dynamic, productive European society and the Digital Single Market.



The e-Partnership Conference is organized by the Estonian Centre of Eastern Partnership (ECEAP) and the e-Governance Academy (EGA), in partnership with the European Commission and the Estonian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The events on 4 and 5 of October are part of a series of events organised in preparation for the 5thEastern Partnership Summit, which will be held in Brussels on 24 November. The EU has invested €13 million in the framework of EaPConnect – a project aimed at improving high-speed digital connections between the six partner countries. The project runs from 2015 to 2020. More info available here.