European Union Election Observation Mission
Ghana, 2016

WHO - EB 148 - EU Statement: Item 6. Political declaration of the third high-level meeting of the General Assembly on the prevention and control of non-communicable diseases – Oral health

Geneva, 21/01/2021 - 14:53, UNIQUE ID: 210121_10
Statements on behalf of the EU


I have the honour to speak on behalf of the European Union and its Member States.

The Candidate Countries the Republic of North Macedonia[1], Montenegro[1] and Albania[1], the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova and Georgia align themselves with this statement.

We thank the secretariat for their report on addressing the oral health as part of the universal health coverage and non-communicable diseases agendas 2030 for sustainable development.

More than 3,5 billion people suffer from oral diseases worldwide. The burden of these diseases shows considerable inequalities, as they disproportionally affect marginalized and poor populations. However, oral diseases are largely preventable, with many of them having the same risk factors as non-communicable diseases, such as poor hygiene, poor diet, high sugar intake, tobacco use and harmful use of alcohol.

Good oral health is essential for good general health, including diabetes, cardiovascular diseases chronic pulmonary obstructive diseases and cancer. It is also pivotal requirement for healthy ageing, for retaining self-esteem and dignity.


With regard to the environment friendly oral health care efforts, the European Union and its Member States will continue to be active in line with the Minamata Convention on Mercury.

Finally, we thank Sri Lanka for their leadership in advancing the resolution, proposing to develop a global strategy and technical guidance to ensure safe dental services including under circumstances of heath emergences. EU welcomes this step forward to better oral health and is happy to co-sponsor the resolution.

Thank you.

[1] The Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.


Editorial Sections: