European Union Delegation to the Republic of Zimbabwe

Factsheet: EU Election Observation Mission Zimbabwe 2018

Harare, 25/06/2018 - 21:06, UNIQUE ID: 180625_18

The European Union Election Observation Mission to the Republic of Zimbabwe (EUEOM) is led by Chief Observer Elmar Brok, a Member of the European Parliament from Germany. In total, the mission is expected to comprise more than 140 observers from all EU member states, as well as Canada, Norway and Switzerland. A ten-person core-team arrived in Harare on 6 June. The core-team analyses political, electoral and legal issues related to the electoral process. 44 long-term observers arrived in Zimbabwe on 19 June and were deployed to all ten provinces a few days later. They observe the electoral process in their areas and report back to the core-team in Harare. 44 short-term observers join the mission shortly before the election day. They observe voting, counting and the tabulation of results. The mission is also joined by a delegation of seven Members of the European Parliament, as well as diplomatic staff from embassies accredited in Harare.