Delegation of the European Union to Zambia and COMESA

Travel to the EU from Zambia

16/05/2016 - 17:13
Travel to the EU

Useful information on travelling from Zambia to the EU, such as visas, travel restrictions and consulates, and for studying there.

Consular Protection

EU citizens' rights to consular assistance outside the EU, how to get assistance and EU rules on consular protection.

As an EU citizen, you are entitled to seek help from the embassy or consulate of any other EU country if you find yourselves in a situation where you need advice or assistance outside the EU, with no embassy or consulate from your own country to help you (you are "unrepresented").

Unrepresented EU citizens are entitled to receive consular protection under the same conditions as the nationals of that country. This is a right set out in Articles 20(2)c and 23 of the EU Treaty and Article 46 of the EU Charter of Fundamental Rights.

The EU is working to further improve consular protection for EU citizens.

For more information, visit the website on consular protection for EU citizens abroad and

Visa for Schengen and EU countries

If you wish to travel to a European country, procedures for obtaining a short-stay visa differ, depending on whether or not you intend to travel to a country that is a party to the Schengen Agreement, or to a non-Schengen EU Member State.

Currently, the Schengen area consists of 26 European countries (of which 22 are EU states): Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway,  Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Being part of the Schengen area without internal border controls means that these countries:

  • do not carry out border checks at their internal borders (i.e. borders between two Schengen states);

  • carry out harmonised controls, based on clearly defined criteria, at their external borders (i.e. borders between a Schengen state and a non-Schengen state).

As a result, both EU citizens and non-EU nationals may freely travel within the Schengen area and are checked only when crossing the external border.

Nationals from Zambia and other certain non-EU countries need a visa to enter into the Schengen area. The Schengen states have common rules for issuing short-stay Schengen visas, which are valid within the entire Schengen area. These visas allow a person to stay and travel in the territories of Schengen states for a maximum of 90 days in any 180-day period.

Six EU member states are not, or not yet, part of the Schengen area: Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania and the United Kingdom. This means that a flight from one of these states to a Schengen state is regarded as an external flight and is subject to border checks.

Contact details for Schengen visas

Currently, travellers who reside in Zambia may contact the following consulates if their main destination or their first point of entry into the Schengen area is one of the following 23 countries:

Country for Schengen visa

Authority that processes visa applications


Austria, Hungary, Germany, Slovenia

Embassy of Germany in  Lusaka

Visa and Consular Section Office

Plot 5219 Haile Selassie Avenue


Opening hours : Monday – Thursday, 09:00h - 11:00h

Tel. +260-211-250 644 ext. 110


Greece, Italy, Malta, Slovakia

Embassy of Italy in Lusaka

Plot 5211 Embassy Park, Diplomatic Triangle


Opening hours: Monday - Wednesday 09:00h - 11:00h; Friday 9:00h - 11:00h; Tuesday 13:00h - 15:00h

Appointment times are given via phone at +260 211  250781 


Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Iceland, Latvia, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland


Bookings for lodging a visa application can no longer be made via the Swedish Embassy. To lodge an application at the Visa Application Centre please contact VFS Global via

The Embassy offers a restricted number of appointments every week for lodging application directly at the Embassy. To check availability please send an e-mail to . Please note that the waiting time for applying is normally scientifically longer if you wish to apply at the Embassy compared with applying via VFS Global.

Please go to VFS website for requirements:

Czech Republic

Embassy of the Czech Republic in Lusaka

Consular and Visa Office

4 Twin Palm Road, Kabulonga,
Lusaka, Zambia

Opening hours: Tuesday, Thursday 9.00h - 11.00h

Tel. +260 211 269 878


Embassy of Switzerland in Dar Es Salaam

Visa Section

Kinondoni Road, Plot 79

Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

Opening hours: Monday – Friday 8:00h – 11:00h

Tel. +255 22 266 60 08



Embassy of Lithuania in Pretoria

Consular section

235 Grosvenor St.

Hatfield 0028, Pretoria, South Africa

Opening hours (by appointment only via website):

Monday - Thursday 9:00h – 12:00h

Tel. +27 (0) 12 760 9000



Contact details for non-Schengen EU visas 

In addition, the six EU Member States that are not part of the Schengen area issue visas for their countries individually in Lusaka or via their Embassies in South Africa:


Country for Schengen visa

Authority that processes visa applications



Embassy of Bulgaria in Pretoria

1071 Standza Bopape str.,

0083 Hatfield, Pretoria, South Africa

Opening hours (advance booking required): Monday - Friday, 09:00h - 12:00h

Tel.: +27 12 342 37 20



Embassy of Croatia in Pretoria

11160 Stanza Bopape (Church) Street

0083 Colbyn, Pretoria, South Africa

Opening hours: Monday - Friday 9:00h - 12:00h

Tel. +27 12 342 1206



Honorary Consul of Cyprus in Lusaka

Mr. Christos Andrew Spyron

25b Sable Road Kabulonga


Office Hours: 08:30h - 17:00h

Tel. +260 211 262931



Embassy of Ireland in Lusaka

6663 Katima Mulilo Road,


Tel. +260-211-291234


Embassy of Romania in Pretoria

Consular Section

877 Justice Mahomed Street,

Brooklyn 0181 Pretoria, South Africa

Opening hours (by appointment via website only): Monday – Thursday,  08:30h to 12:30h; Friday 8:30h to 12:30h for Romanian citizens only

Tel.: +27 12 4600060


United Kingdom

UK Visa Application Centre

FedEx  Stand No 20849

Alick Nkhata Road


Tel.: +260 211 251061


Erasmus+ is the European Union’s programme for education, training, youth and sport. Between 2014 and 2020, it will provide opportunities for four million people to study, train and gain life experience abroad.

Erasmus+ replaces a number of older programmes, including an international exchange programme called Erasmus Mundus.

See the Erasmus+ web portal’s Resources section for information about linguistic support, documents for applicants and the management of proposals.

Editorial Sections: