The Delegation of the European Union to Yemen

EU-Canada young journalist fellows recognized at the Senate of Canada

11/09/2019 - 18:58

The 2019 EU-Canada young journalist fellows were recognized during an awards ceremony co-hosted by the Honourable George J. Furey, Speaker of the Senate of Canada, and Peteris Ustubs, Ambassador of the European Union to Canada, at the historic Senate of Canada Building in Ottawa on 10 September.

Photo: Sam Garcia

The laureates include Ted Fraser (Halifax, Nova Scotia), Philippe Teisceira-Lessard (Montreal, Quebec) and Zak Vescera (Vancouver, British Columbia), who distinguished themselves in the year's editorial contest organized by the Delegation of the European Union to Canada, in partnership with the Canadian Association of Journalists. The fellows will participate in a week-long study tour of European Union institutions in Brussels in October 2019.


"The EU-Canada Young Journalist Fellowship is an initiative we started nearly two decades ago (2001) in hopes of giving young Canadian journalists a chance to expand their horizons, advance their career goals and, at the same time, form lifetime friendships with Europeans," said EU Ambassador Peteris Ustubs. "This fellowship aims to promote quality and responsible journalism."


The next edition of the EU-Canada Young Journalist Fellowship to be launched in the spring of 2020.


Editorial Sections: