The Delegation of the European Union to Yemen

Travel to the EU from Yemen

16/05/2016 - 17:30
Travel to the EU

Citizens from some non-EU countries, including Yemen, are required to hold a visa when travelling to the Schengen Area. Generally, a short-stay visa issued by one of the Schengen States entitles its holder to travel throughout the 26 Schengen States for up to three months within a six-month period. Visas for visits exceeding that period remain subject to national procedures. Schengen visa holders are usually required to enter the Schengen area via the country which has issued the visa. The EU Delegation does not issue visas.


Until the evacuation in 2015, three Member States' consulates issue Schengen visas in Sana'a: France, Italy and Germany. At the moment Yemeni citizens can only travel through Cairo or Amman. EU member States' Embassies/Consulates in Egypt and Jordan should be contacted for further information.

Editorial Sections: