Permanent Mission of the European Union to
the World Trade Organization (WTO)

The EU Mission to the WTO

11/05/2016 - 17:09
About us - structure and organisation

The EU Mission to the World Trade Organization (WTO) represents the interests of the EU and its 27 member states in the daily work of the WTO. This includes the regular work of the WTO, as well as related trade negotiations.

The EU Mission is part of the European External Action Service (EEAS) established following the Lisbon Treaty of 2007. 

The Permanent Delegation of the EU to the United Nations Office and other international organisations in Geneva deals with other international organisations in Geneva whereas the Delegation of the European Union in Bern focuses on bilateral relations with Switzerland.

Ambassador's message

Dear visitor,

Welcome to the website of the Permanent Mission of the European Union to the World Trade Organization (WTO).

The European Union (EU) is a strong supporter of the multilateral trading system. Having exclusive competence in trade policy, the EU plays a key role in the WTO and actively promotes a multilateral trading system that is fair, predictable and based on common rules.

As the world’s largest trading entity, and the single-largest provider of Aid for Trade, the EU, speaking with one voice in the WTO, is a leader in advancing the rules-based multilateral trading system.

As the cornerstone of the multilateral trading system, the WTO has been a success in ensuring a stable and predictable environment for business to operate and prosper based on a common set of trade rules. However, the WTO is currently faced with a number of challenges. The EU sees this as an opportunity for positive change and reform of the WTO. More than ever, these reforms demand global cooperation and collaboration to effectively address the global challenges facing the international community.

The EU participates actively in the day-to-day work of the WTO and has presented concrete proposals to improve the different work strands of the organisation; from its negotiating function, the supervision and monitoring of WTO Members' trade policy and measures, and, the operation of the dispute settlement system. The EU is fully committed to continue playing a leading role and to work collectively with its WTO partners to shape the multilateral trading system to address the economic realities and needs of today.

This website is designed to inform you of the EU’s multilateral trade policy and the various activities of the EU in the WTO. Your comments, questions, and suggestions regarding our work at the WTO are always welcome.

You can contact us directly at delegation-geneva-wto@eeas.europa.eu

I would also invite you to follow my Twitter account: @JoaoAM_EU and that of the Permanent Mission: @EUmissionWTO

 

João Aguiar Machado

Ambassador and Permanent Representative

 



 

Ambassador's Biography

 

Mr. João Aguiar Machado

Ambassador and Permanent Representative

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 61

Email: joao.aguiar-machado@eeas.europa.eu

Mr. Hiddo Houben

Deputy Head of Mission

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 77

E-mail: hiddo.houben@eeas.europa.eu

Mrs. Silvana Sultana

Attaché / Assistant

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 27

E-mail: silvana.sultana@eeas.europa.eu

Mrs. Patricia Lionti

Attaché / Assistant

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 22

E-mail: patricia.lionti@eeas.europa.eu

Mrs. Tania Cayon

Protocol & Social Events, Press & Information Assistant

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 14

E-mail: tania.cayon@eeas.europa.eu

Mr. Christophe Rames

Minister Counsellor

Responsibilities: Agriculture, State trading enterprises, Cotton

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 41

E-mail: christophe.rames@eeas.europa.eu

Mr. Canice Nolan

Minister Counsellor

Responsibilities: SPS issues

Telephone: +41 22 919 74 13

E-mail: canice.nolan@eeas.europa.eu

Mr. Ioannis Zervas

Counsellor

Responsibilities: WTO Dispute Settlement, Legal matters

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 59

E-mail: ioannis.zervas@eeas.europa.eu

Mr. Martin Gajda

Counsellor

Responsibilities: Rules (Anti-Dumping, Subsidies and Safeguards), Intellectual Property Rights (TRIPS), Competition

Press relations & relations with the European Parliament and Website

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 17

E-mail: martin.gajda@eeas.europa.eu

Mrs. Tiina Satuli

Counsellor

Trade & Development (incl. CTD-SS, CTD regular), Monitoring Mechanism, Small Economies, PTA, LDC Sub-Committee, Transfer of Technology, Aid for Trade (incl. Enhanced Integrated Framework), DDAGTF, Trade Debt and Finance, ITC,

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 38

E-mail: tiina.satuli@eeas.europa.eu

Mrs. Kristina Grutschreiber

Counsellor

Responsibilities:  Trade facilitation, Trade & environment (incl. Environmental Goods Agreement (EGA),  Labour, Committee on Regional Trade Agreements (CRTA), Civil Aircraft, Budget Committee, General Council, Trade Negotiations Committee (TNC)

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 75

E-mail: kristina.grutschreiber@eeas.europa.eu

Mrs. Diane Lacoste

Counsellor

Committee on Market Access, Non Agricultural Market Access (NAMA), ITA, Pharma-Agreement, Chemicals and GRP/Transparency, Art. XXIV:6 and XXVIII negotiations, Council for Trade in Goods, General Council, Trade Negotiations Committee (TNC), Rules of Origin, MSMEs

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 31

E-mail: diane.lacoste@eeas.europa.eu

Mrs. Gintare Kemekliene

First Secretary

Responsibilities: Trade in Services, E-Commerce, TISA, TRIMs

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 51

E-mail: gintare.kemekliene@eeas.europa.eu

Mr. Victor Garcia Lopez Berges

Attaché

Responsibilities: WTO Dispute Settlement Body, Legal matters

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 50

E-mail: victor.garcia-lopez-berges@eeas.europa.eu

Mrs. Marie-Pierre Nicora

Trade Officer

Responsibilities: Accessions, Technical Barriers to Trade (TBT), Customs valuation, Import licensing, Pre-shipment inspection, Balance of Payments Committee (BOP), focal point for all issues related to Russia and CIS countries

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 43

E-mail: marie-pierre.nicora@eeas.europa.eu

Mrs. Hene Leht-Blight

Trade Officer

Responsibilities: Trade Policy Review Body (TPRB) (incl. monitoring reports), Government procurement, General Council, Trade Negotiations Committee (TNC), Investment Facilitation for Development

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 34

E-mail: hene.leht@eeas.europa.eu

Ms Eliane Barbaglia

Assistant

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 21

E-mail: eliane.barbaglia@eeas.europa.eu

Ms Evelyne Benoist

Assistant

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 40

E-mail: evelyne.benoist@eeas.europa.eu

Ms Xenia Nettleton

Assistant

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 25

E-mail: xenia.nettleton@eeas.europa.eu

 

Administration Section

Mrs. Petra Auster

Head of Administration, Attaché

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 69

E-mail: petra.auster@eeas.europa.eu

Mr. Jean-Marc Armuzzi

Mail/archives

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 70

E-mail:  jean-marc.armuzzi@eeas.europa.eu               

Mrs. Marie-Laure Blanc

Infrastructure

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 65

E-mail: marie-laure.blanc@eeas.europa.eu             

Mrs. Muriel Bouvier

Human Resources/Protocol

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 68

E-mail: muriel.bouvier@eeas.europa.eu    

Mrs. Serena Galeano

Mail/Archives

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 56

E-mail: serena.galeano@eeas.europa.eu

Mrs. Isabelle Le Gatt

Logistics

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 47

E-mail: isabelle.le-gatt@eeas.europa.eu

Mr. Alain Nibut

Accounting

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 79

E-mail: alain.nibut@eeas.europa.eu

Mr. Valdir Antunes

Driver

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 45

E-mail: valdir.antunes@eeas.europa.eu

Mr. André Da Cunha

Driver

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 45

E-mail: andre.da-cunha@eeas.europa.eu

Mr. Yaonier Oreste RIGNACK TAMAYO

Driver

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 45

E-mail: Yaonier.RIGNACK-TAMAYO@eeas.europa.eu

Mr. Robert Kelly

Driver/Administrative support

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 72

E-mail: robert.kelly@eeas.europa.eu

 

Editorial Sections: