Permanent Mission of the European Union to
the World Trade Organization (WTO)

 

The EU Mission to the WTO

11/05/2016 - 17:09
About us - structure and organisation

The EU Mission to the World Trade Organization (WTO) represents the interests of the EU and its 28 member states in the daily work of the WTO. This includes the regular work of the WTO, as well as related trade negotiations.

The EU Mission is part of the European External Action Service (EEAS) established following the Lisbon Treaty of 2007. 

The Permanent Delegation of the EU to the United Nations Office and other international organisations in Geneva deals with other international organisations in Geneva whereas the Delegation of the European Union in Bern focuses on bilateral relations with Switzerland.

Marc Vanheukelen

Dear visitor,

Thank you for your interest in the work of the Permanent Mission of the European Union to the World Trade Organization (WTO).

As laid down by Treaty, the European Union institutions have exclusive competence over international trade policy.

The European Union continues to play a key role in trade matters, including multilaterally in the WTO. As the world's largest trading entity, and the single largest provider of Aid for Trade, the EU, speaking with one voice in the WTO, will continue to play an active leadership role in identifying and promoting ways to advance the international trading system and the WTO, be it in the day-to-day work of the organization or in any negotiations taking place.

While its regular work and the dispute settlement system operate well, the WTO has struggled over the past twenty years to achieve outcomes in negotiations to expand market access and other disciplines. However, the WTO's 10th Ministerial Conference in Nairobi in December 2015 saw agreement on a number of important issues, including export competition in the area of agriculture, as well as decisions specifically for the benefit of least-developed countries. The Ministerial Conference also formally completed the accession to the WTO of two new least-developed country members, Afghanistan and Liberia. These results add further to the ones resulting from the 9th Ministerial Conference in Bali (December 2013).

Looking ahead it will now be for WTO members to decide on the priorities for future negotiations for multilateral trade liberalisation and adoption of new disciplines on trade-related issues reflecting the economic realities and needs of today. The EU remains committed to playing an active leadership role in this respect.

This website provides you with information on EU trade policy, in particular as it relates to the WTO. Further information on EU policies and activities is accessible through the Europa gateway.

The Permanent Delegation of the EU to the United Nations Office and other international organizations in Geneva deals with other international organizations in Geneva whereas the Delegation of the European Union in Bern deals with bilateral relations with Switzerland.

Your comments, questions, and suggestions on our work in Geneva are welcome.

You can contact us directly at delegation-geneva-wto@eeas.europa.eu

Marc Vanheukelen

Ambassador and Permanent Representative

 

Read more about Marc Vanheukelen and his speeches

Mr. Marc Vanheukelen

Ambassador and Permanent Representative

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 61

Email: marc.vanheukelen@eeas.europa.eu

Mr. Paolo Garzotti

Deputy Head of Mission

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 77

E-mail: Paolo.garzotti@eeas.europa.eu

Mrs. Silvana Sultana

Attaché / Assistant

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 27

E-mail: Silvana.sultana@eeas.europa.eu

Mrs. Françoise Mingelbier

Attaché / Assistant

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 22

E-mail: Francoise.mingelbier@eeas.europa.eu

Mrs. Tania Cayon

Protocol & Social Events, Press & Information Assistant

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 14

E-mail: tania.cayon@eeas.europa.eu

Mr. Christophe Rames

Minister Counsellor

Responsibilities: Agriculture, State trading enterprises, Cotton

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 41

E-mail: Christophe.rames@eeas.europa.eu

Mr. Canice Nolan

Minister Counsellor

Responsibilities: SPS issues

Telephone: +41 22 919 74 13

E-mail: Canice.nolan@eeas.europa.eu

Mr. Ioannis Zervas

Counsellor

Responsibilities: WTO Dispute Settlement, Legal matters

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 59

E-mail: Ioannis.zervas@eeas.europa.eu

Mr. Stefan Amarasinha

Counsellor

Responsibilities: Rules (Anti-Dumping, Subsidies and Safeguards), Intellectual Property Rights (TRIPS), Competition

Press relations & relations with the European Parliament and Website

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 17

E-mail: stefan.amarasinha@eeas.europa.eu

Mrs. Tiina Satuli

Counsellor

Trade & Development (incl. CTD-SS, CTD regular), Monitoring Mechanism, Small Economies, PTA, LDC Sub-Committee, Transfer of Technology, Aid for Trade (incl. Enhanced Integrated Framework), DDAGTF, Trade Debt and Finance, ITC,

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 38

E-mail: tiina.satuli@eeas.europa.eu

Mrs. Claudia Weiss

Counsellor

Responsibilities:  Trade facilitation, Trade & environment (incl. Environmental Goods Agreement (EGA),  Labour, Committee on Regional Trade Agreements (CRTA), Civil Aircraft, Budget Committee, General Council, Trade Negotiations Committee (TNC)

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 75

E-mail: claudia.weiss@eeas.europa.eu

Mrs. Diane Lacoste

First Secretary

Committee on Market Access, Non Agricultural Market Access (NAMA), ITA, Pharma-Agreement, Chemicals and GRP/Transparency, Art. XXIV:6 and XXVIII negotiations, Council for Trade in Goods, General Council, Trade Negotiations Committee (TNC), Rules of Origin

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 31

E-mail: Diane.lacoste@eeas.europa.eu

Mr. Fabien Gehl

First Secretary

Responsibilities: Trade in Services, E-Commerce, TISA, Trade and Investment, TRIMs

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 51

E-mail: fabien.gehl@eeas.europa.eu

Mr. Victor Garcia Lopez Berges

Attaché

Responsibilities: WTO Dispute Settlement Body, Legal matters

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 50

E-mail: Victor.garcia-lopez-berges@eeas.europa.eu

Mrs. Marie-Pierre Nicora

Trade Officer

Responsibilities: Accessions, Technical Barriers to Trade (TBT), Customs valuation, Import licensing, Pre-shipment inspection, Balance of Payments Committee (BOP), focal point for all issues related to Russia and CIS countries

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 43

E-mail: marie-pierre.nicora@eeas.europa.eu

Mrs. Hene Leht-Blight

Trade Officer

Responsibilities: Trade Policy Review Body (TPRB) (incl. monitoring reports), Government procurement, General Council, Trade Negotiations Committee (TNC)

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 34

E-mail: hene.leht@eeas.europa.eu

Ms Eliane Barbaglia

Assistant

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 21

E-mail: eliane.barbaglia@eeas.europa.eu

Ms Evelyne Benoist

Assistant

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 40

E-mail: evelyne.benoist@eeas.europa.eu

Ms Xenia Nettleton

Assistant

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 25

E-mail: xenia.nettleton@eeas.europa.eu

 

 

 

Administration Section

 

 

Mr. Wallace Harland

Head of Administration, Attaché

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 69

E-mail: Wallace.harland@eeas.europa.eu

 

Mr. Jean-Marc Armuzzi

Mail/archives

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 70

E-mail: Jean-marc.armuzzi@eeas.europa.eu

 

Mrs. Marie-Laure Blanc

Infrastructure

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 65

E-mail: Marie-laure.blanc@eeas.europa.eu

 

Mrs. Muriel Bouvier

Human Resources/Protocol

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 68

E-mail: Muriel.bouvier@eeas.europa.eu

 

Mrs. Serena Galeano

Mail/Archives

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 56

E-mail: Serena.galeano@eeas.europa.eu

 

Mrs. Isabelle Le Gatt

Logistics

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 47

E-mail: Isabelle.le-gatt@eeas.europa.eu

 

Mr. Alain Nibut

Accounting

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 79

E-mail: Alain.nibut@eeas.europa.eu

 

Mr. Valdir Antunes

Driver

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 45

E-mail: Antunes.valdir@eeas.europa.eu

 

Mr. André Da Cunha

Driver

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 45

E-mail: Andre.da-cunha@eeas.europa.eu

 

Mr. Michel Drezen

Driver

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 45

E-mail: Michel.drezen@eeas.europa.eu

 

Mr. Robert Kelly

Driver/Administrative support

Telephone: +41 22 918 22 72

E-mail: Robert.kelly@eeas.europa.eu

Editorial Sections: