Delegation of the European Union to Uzbekistan

Travel to the EU from Uzbekistan

16/05/2016 - 18:59
Travel to the EU

Overview of opportunities to study and travel in the European Union (EU).

For travelling to the EU citizens of Uzbekistan require a visa. Depending on the travelling destination, it is either a Schengen visa or a national visa.

To which countries do Schengen rules apply?

Today, twenty-two EU countries (Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden), plus Norway, Iceland and Switzerland fully apply the provisions of the Schengen acquis. With a Schengen visa, you may enter one country and travel freely throughout the Schengen zone.

To which countries are national visas required?

Cyprus, Bulgaria and Romania, the United Kingdom and Ireland still issue national visas. This means that these visas are only valid for a short stay in the territory of the Member State which issued them.

Where to apply for the visa?

If you intend to visit only one Schengen Member State, you must apply at the Embassy or Consulate of this Member State. If you intend to visit several Schengen countries, you must apply for a visa at the Embassy or Consulate of the country which is your main destination. If you intend to visit several Schengen countries but do not have a main destination, you should apply for a visa at the Embassy or Consulate of the country which is your first point of entry.

To learn more about EU visa policies please visit Directorate-General for Freedom, Security and Justice at

To learn more about visa application procedures please contact Embassies or Consulates of EU Member States.

EU Member States embassies in Tashkent

Embassy of Bulgaria

52 Rakatboshi Str., 100 031 Tashkent

Tel: +998 71 256 48 88

Fax: +998 71 252 39 52




Embassy of the Czech Republic

6 Navnikhol Str., 100 041 Tashkent

Tel: +998 71 1206071

Fax: +998 71 1206075


Webpage :


Embassy of the Republic of France

25 Istikbol Str., 100 077 Tashkent

Tel: +998 71 2335382/84; 233-51-57;     

Fax: +998 71 233-62-10     



Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany

15 Sharaf Rashidov Str., 100 017 Tashkent

Tel: +998 71  1208440; 1208272     

Fax: +998 71 1206693; 1208450     




Embassy of Hungary 
63, Sadik Azimov Street 10007 Tashkent Uzbekistan
Tel: +998 71 232 01 35;  +998 71 233 11 89
Fax: +998 71 233 11 89


Embassy of the Republic of Italy

40 Yusuf Xos Xodjib Str., 100 031 Tashkent

Tel: +998 71 1521119; 1206605     

Fax: +998 71 1206606




Embassy of Latvia

16a Laskarbegi Str., 100 000 Tashkent

Tel: +998 71  2372215; 2370851

Fax: +998 71 1207036




Embassy of the Republic of Poland

66 Firdavsiy Str., 100 084 Tashkent

Tel: +998 71  1208650/52

Fax: +998 71 1208651  




Embassy of Romania

44a Rejametova Str., 100 031 Tashkent

Tel: +998 71  2526355; 2526888

Fax: +998 71 1207567




Embassy of Slovak Republic 

38 Kichick Beshyogoch Str., 100 070 Tashkent

Tel: +998 71  1206852; 1206952

Fax: +998 71 1206851




Embassy of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

67 Gulyamov Str., 100 000 Tashkent

Tel: +998 71  1206288; 1207852; 1201500

Fax: +998 71 1206549; 1206430



Other EU Member States, with non resident Ambassadors accredited to Uzbekistan

Embassy of Austria
Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Vienna, Austria
Tel: +43-5-01150-3263 

Embassy of Belgium
7 Malaya Moltchanovka Str., Moscow, Russia
Tel: + 7 (495) 780 03 31 

Embassy of the Republic of Cyprus
9 Povarskaya Str., Moscow, Russia
Tel: +7 499 575 0310 

The Royal Danish Embassy
9 Prechistensky Lane, Moscow, Russia
Tel: +7 (495) 642 68 00  

Embassy of the Republic of Estonia
5 Maly Kislovsky Lane, Moscow, Russia
Tel: +7 (495) 737 36 40 

Embassy of the Republic of Finland
22 Laivastokatu Str., Helsinki, Finland
Tel: +358 40 740 9213 

Embassy of the Hellenic Republic  
4 Leontevskiy Lane, Moscow, Russia
Tel: +7 495 539 29 40, 539 29 41 

Embassy of Ireland
5 Grokholskiy Lane, Moscow, Russia
Tel: +7 (495) 937 59 11, 737 36 36 

Embassy of Lithuania       
No. 17/8-9 Mahatma Gandi Str., Ankara, Turkey
Tel: +90.312.447.0766 / 

Embassy of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
3 Khrouchtchevsky Lane, Moscow, Russia
Tel: +7 (495) 786 66 63 

Embassy of Malta 
7, apt.219 Koroviy Val Street, Moscow, Russia
Tel: +7 (495) 237 19 39/81; 230 25 24 

Royal Netherlands Embassy
6 Kalashnyi Lane, Moscow, Russia
Tel: +7 495 797 29 00 

Embassy of the Portuguese Republic      
3 Grokholsky Lane, Moscow, Russia
Tel: +7 (495) 981 34 10 

Embassy of the Republic of Slovenia     
14/1 Dmitrovka Str., Moscow, Russia
Tel: +7 (495) 735 63 55 

Royal Spanish Embassy     
50/8 Nikitskaya Str., Moscow, Russia
Tel: +7 (495) 690 29 93 

Embassy of the Kingdom of Sweden                       
Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Stockholm, Sweden
Tel: +46 84051000

The Erasmus+ programme combines the EU's famous student exchange programme with other opportunities to train, get work experience or volunteer abroad. Citizens of Uzbekistan are eligible for many of these opportunities. More information is available on the National Erasmus+ Office on Uzbekistan's website.

The European Union Visitors Programme (EUVP) invites young, promising leaders from Uzbekistan to visit Europe to gain first-hand experience of the EU and facilitate connections between professionals within and outside the EU.

The visit consists of an individual five to eight-day programme of meetings with officials at EU institutions in Brussels, Strasbourg and/or Luxembourg. Travel and living costs are covered by the EU. The EU Delegation to Uzbekistan provides visa support for participants.

Who is eligible to participate?

Government officials (local and state), journalists, educators, employees of non-profit and/or non-governmental organisations and other professionals aged in their mid-20s to mid-40s with career-related interests in the EU are eligible to participate.

The EUVP is not a student programme. Participants are required to have completed their university education or equivalent training, have several years' work experience and speak one of the EU languages, preferably English or French.

How are participants selected?

EUVP participants are selected by a committee chaired jointly by a Member of the European Parliament and a Member of the European Commission. Two visitors from Uzbekistan are usually selected. The total number of visitors worldwide is generally about 160.

Important note: The first selection of candidates is made by the Delegation of the EU to Uzbekistan. The final decision is taken by the EUVP Secretariat in Brussels in September.

How to apply?

Applications should be addressed to:

EUVP Coordinator
Delegation of the European Union
International Business Centre, 107b Amir Temur Street,
100 084 Tashkent, Uzbekistan

The letter should be brief and in English, and must contain:

  • a description of the applicant's current position;
  • the applicant's area of expertise;
  • a brief outline of the sector to be studied in Europe, indicating specifically how it relates to the applicant's career objectives;
  • a completed application form;
  • a detailed CV.

Applications in English (originals in hard copy) for the next year must be received by the Delegation's office BEFORE 1 March of each year.