Delegation of the European Union to Uzbekistan

Arms Trade Treaty - Seventh Conference of State Parties - Matters pertaining to the Secretariat

Geneva, 02/09/2021 - 10:16, UNIQUE ID: 210902_3
Statements on behalf of the EU

Mr. President,

I have the honour to speak on behalf of the European Union and its Member States.

The Candidate Countries Turkey, the Republic of North Macedonia*, Montenegro*, Serbia* and Albania*, the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Georgia align themselves with this statement.

On 19 April 2021, the EU decided to provide new funding for the effective implementation of the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT). With a contribution of EUR 1.37 million, the EU finances three projects implemented by the ATT Secretariat in order to strengthen Treaty implementation and local expertise regarding the ATT. The EU’s support will enable the following actions:

  1. Training local and regional ATT experts to deliver implementation assistance and reduce reliance on external consultants;
  2. Creating a database to match Treaty implementation needs and resources; and
  3. Building IT and communications mechanisms to help States Parties’ points of contact and the ATT Secretariat collaborate more effectively.

The project also strengthens the ATT Secretariat’s institutional capacities to provide sustainable support to States Parties. The project is part of the EU’s recently adopted broader strategy to strengthen the EU's contribution to rules-based multilateralism, by promoting global peace and security. We look forward to continuing our close cooperation with the ATT Secretariat in the context of this new project and look forward to the first results. The project will be officially launched on Thursday 2 September during a side event to the CSP at 11:30, and you are all cordially invited to participate at this event.


Thank you, Mr. President.


The Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.