Delegation of the European Union 
to the United States

Geographical indications from farm to table: What is the value-added for Atlantic Canada? Webinars 20 & 27 January

08/01/2021 - 22:10
News

On 20 and 27 January, the Delegation of the European Union to Canada and Food & Beverage Atlantic are organising a series of webinars on Protected Geographical Indications (GIs) and their value-added for producers, exporters and consumers.

 

REGISTER HERE & JOIN US ON 20 and 27 January!

 

Webinar 1: Geographical indications as a policy tool for sustainable economic development in Atlantic Canada: what prospects?

20 January 2021, 10:30 am - 12:00 pm AST (9:30 am - 11:00 EST / 15h30 - 17:00 CET)

(Plenary session: 40 mins - Discussion: 45 mins)

  • What are GIs and why are they embraced by producers and policy makers?
  • What are the opportunities and policy and legal challenges related to a GI regime?
  • What is the current state of play in terms of labelling strategies for food products in Atlantic Canada?
  • What is the relationship between GIs and rural development?

 

Webinar 2: Geographical indications from farm to table: what is the value added?

27 January 2021, 10:00 am - 11:30 pm AST (9:00 am - 10:30 EST / 14h00 - 16h30 CET)

(Plenary session: 40 mins - Discussion: 45 mins)

  • Pros and Cons of a GI regime: why bother? Producers’ perspective.
  • What are the main steps of establishing a GI regime?
  • What are the benefits for consumers?
  • How are GIs beneficial for local and international trade? Importers’ perspective.
  • What are the benefits and challenges of GIs for marketing and branding

 

This new series of webinars is part of the EU Delegation’s Platform on GIs in Canada and Europe.


Three seminars (in French) have already been held last fall with a focus on GIs in Quebec:  

Seminar#1 : État des lieux des indications géographiques: regards d’experts

Seminar#2 : Indications géographiques - Quels bénéfices socio-économiques?

Seminar#3 : Mettre en oeuvre un régime d'IG protégées: enjeux politiques et légaux

 

Also listen to our podcast series on GIs with Chefs, producers and commercial players!
 

PDF iconPress Release

 

Languages:
Editorial Sections: