Delegation of the European Union
to the United Nations - New York


01/05/2019 - 15:51
About us - structure and organisation

<p>Delegation of the European Union to the United Nations - New York.</p>

The European Union (EU) has Delegations accredited to the UN in Geneva, Paris, Rome, Vienna, Nairobi — and New York. Their role is to coordinate the EU’s day-to-day relations with the UN.

The Delegations also report back to EU headquarters in Brussels on the UN’s activities. Their reports feed into the political agenda in Brussels, which in turn creates a framework for operations at the local level. In addition, the Delegations work closely with EU countries which have a presence at UN offices.

In New York

The Delegation based in New York started work in 1974 when it was granted observer status at the 29th UN General Assembly. Before that it was an information office.

EU delegations operate under the authority of the High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy and Vice President of the Commission, Ms. Federica Mogherini. The HRVP is supported by the External Action Service, which is tasked with working in cooperation with the diplomatic services of the Member States and comprised of officials from relevant departments of the General Secretariat of the Council and of the Commission as well as staff seconded from national diplomatic services of the Member States.

In addition to its coordination role, delegations also serve a reporting function, covering the breadth of the UN agenda or working with Member States on burden sharing. Delegation reports feed into the political agenda in Brussels, which in return creates the framework for operation at the local level.

Ambassador Silvio Gonzato, Deputy Head of Delegation
Ambassador Silvio Gonzato, Deputy Head of Delegation


Silvio Gonzato started his career at the European Union in 1988.

Prior to his appointment in the European External Action (EEAS), Mr. Gonzato was Head of the Secretariat of the European Parliament’s Committee on Foreign Affairs, where his responsibilities covered among others, advice to the chair regarding the organization of the activities of the committee, contacts with other EU Institutions, with the European External Action Service and with diplomatic missions in Brussels.

In July 2014 he was appointed Director for Human Rights and Democracy EEAS. In this capacity, he was responsible for the organization and contents of all HR-related dialogues and consultations between the EU and partner countries (more than 40 of them), the development of policy guidelines, and guidance to EU bilateral and multilateral delegations in matters pertaining to HR and democracy support. He was also responsible for Election Observation activities.

In September 2015, he was appointed Director for Interinstitutional relations, Policy coordination and Public diplomacy at the EEAS. His responsibilities covered relations with all EU institutions and representation of the EEAS in negotiations having institutional or legal implications, including sanctions. He was in charge of coordinating all political and legislative files and preparing the meetings of the Foreign Affairs Council. He was also responsible for public diplomacy activities (including promoting cultural affairs in EU external relations), strategic communication issues. In this context he oversaw the EEAS communications strategy.

On May 1, 2019 he was appointed Ambassador, Deputy Head of the Delegation of the European Union to the United Nations in New York.

Office of the Ambassador, Charge d'affaires a.i.

Mr. Silvio Gonzato

Ambassador, Deputy Head of the Delegation

Mr. Serge Christiane

Minister, Senior Adviser

Ms. Tine Benson

Attachée, Assistant


Office of the Deputy Head of the EU Delegation

Mr. Silvio Gonzato

Ambassador, Deputy Head of Delegation

Ms. Herminia Soares

Attachée, Assistant


Coordination, Press and Information

Mr. Sébastien Brabant

First Secretary, Head of Section

Ms. Evangelia Koutroumanidou

Attachée, Assistant

Mr. Marcel Pieper

Senior Outreach and Coordination Officer

Mr. Christopher Matthews

Press and Public Affairs Officer

Ms. Shila Patel

Public Affairs/Website and Social Media Officer

Ms. Jelena Vujic

Event Coordinator/Planner

Ms. Margarida Pinheiro Torres



Legal and Institutional Affairs, Counter-terrorism and Sanctions

Mr. Eric Chaboureau

First Counsellor, Head of Section

Ms. Daniela Gauci

Counsellor, Legal Adviser

Mr. Ian Burrows




Political Affairs and Security Council

Mr. Guillaume Dabouis

First Counsellor, Head of Section, Elections, Security Council reform

Col Janos Balazsi

First Secretary, Military Issues, Peacekeeping, C34, EUMS PoC

Mr. Andrea Pontiroli

Counsellor, Middle East and North Africa

Ms. Carmen Csernelházi

Counsellor, Western Africa (Liberia, Côte d’Ivoire, UNOWAS/The Gambia), Lake Chad Basin, fight against Boko Haram, Great Lakes region (Burundi, DRC, UNOCA), Sudan/South Sudan, Sudan sanctions, Peacebuilding Commission OC, Guinea PBC, Liberia PBC, Sierra Leone PBC, Burundi PBC, SEA (GA only)

Mr. Viktor Dvořák

Minister Counsellor, Europe, Americas, 4th Committee (non-Middle East & Peacekeeping/SPM issues), Asia: Afghanistan, Central Asia, 1st Committee, conventional non-proliferation

Ms. Rebecca Hallin

Counsellor, First Committee, Disarmament and Non-proliferation

Ms. Anne Schouw

Counsellor, Peacekeeping, Non-proliferation, Disarmament, Asian issues

Ms. Elisabete Palma

First Secretary, Sahel/Mali, CAR, CAR PBC, Somalia, African Union, financing peace operations, Guinea Bissau, Guinea Bissau PBC

Ms. Ellie Vance

Assistant, AGORA management and helpdesk - currently on leave

Ms. Linda Gueye

Assistant, AGORA management and helpdesk

Mr. Jakob Lundwall



Economic, Trade and Development

Mr. Antonio Parenti

Minister Counsellor, Head of Section

Ms. Peggy Vissers

Counsellor, Development, Macroeconomic, Trade

Ms. Helge Zeitler


Ms. Agnieszka Klausa

First Secretary

Ms. Rosalinda Seldowitz


Ms. Foteini Ampatzi


Mr. Giovanni Maria Ficarra


Ms. Lilli Kulta



Humanitarian Affairs

Mr. Eduardo Fernandez Zincke

Counsellor, Head of Section

Ms. Maria Vinuela Rodriguez

Ms. Ineke Hordijk

Policy Assistant

Mr. Ian Burrows




UN Horizontal Issues, UN Budgets, Management and Reform

Mr. Jan de Preter

Counsellor, Head of Section

Ms. Karin Hochhaus


Ms. Katarina Salaj

Ms. Alina Maria Necula


Ms. Amelie Scholl



Human Rights and Social Affairs

Mr. Christophe Forax

First Counsellor, Head of Section

Ms. Dörthe Wacker

First Counsellor

Mr. Julien Bourtembourg

First Secretary

Ms. Thisvi Ekmektzoglou

First Secretary

Ms. Katharina Hermann


Ms. Venise Greffine

Assistant, Traineeship Coordinator

Mr. Ivan Ratkovic



International Cooperation and Development

Mr. Gustavo Martin Prada
Ambassador, Head of Section

Ms. Elisabeth Pape
Minister Counsellor for Development​

Mr. Carlos Casal
Counsellor for Development​

Mr. Mathieu Remond
First Secretary, Development, Macroeconomic, Trade

Ms. Geraldine Villeroux

Policy Assistant



Mr. Serge Christiane

Minister, Head of Administration

Ms. Ilse Geukens

Deputy Head of Administration

Mr. Nicolas Atchinak

IT Officer

Ms. Cecile Fasulo

Human Resources

Ms. Anne Verheyleweghen


Ms. Gaelle Duchemin

Administrative and Cultural Affairs Officer

Mr. Daniel Borlandelli


Mr. Carlos Rodriguez


Ms. Jessica Hinds


Reception Team

Reception Desk/Meeting Services

Редакционные разделы :