Delegation of the European Union to Uganda

Uganda and European Union hold Article 8 Political Dialogue

04/05/2019 - 22:32
News stories

Uganda and European Union reaffirm their partnership at Article 8 Political Dialogue hosted by President Yoweri Museveni on 4 May, 2019.

In accordance with Article 8 of the Cotonou Partnership Agreement, the Republic of Uganda and the European Union reaffirmed their close partnership in a Political Dialogue meeting held on 4 May, 2019, hosted by His Excellency President Yoweri Museveni at State House in Entebbe.

The EU Delegation was led by the European Union Ambassador to Uganda, H.E. Attilio Pacifici, who was joined by the Heads of Mission of Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Ireland, France, Italy, Hungary, Netherlands, Austria, Sweden and the United Kingdom.

Also in attendance were the Prime Minister, the Minister of Energy and Mineral Development, the Minister of Defence, the Minister of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries, the Minister of Trade, Industry and Cooperatives, the Minister of Justice and Constitutional Affairs, the State Minister for Foreign Affairs (International Affairs), the Attorney General and the Secretary General of the NRM, as well as senior government officials.

The dialogue took place in an open, cordial and constructive atmosphere on the basis of a jointly agreed agenda. The high level discussions included global, regional and national issues of mutual interest, ranging from regional dynamics to the electoral process, democracy, human rights and rule of law.

Business climate, trade and investment was also discussed, with both parties recognising the potential for expanding Uganda-EU trade and investment opportunities and the European Union congratulating Uganda for its recent decision to join the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative. The EU as a block is the biggest trading partner of Uganda outside Africa, and Uganda enjoys a positive trade balance with the EU.

The EU concluded the meeting by expressing gratitude to His Excellency the President of Uganda and Ministers in the Government for regularly being available for a constructive political dialogue.

Editorial Sections: