EU Delegation to Turkmenistan


Displaying 71 - 80 of 166

In a more challenging global environment, the European Union needs to step up its actions to enhance its ability to prevent conflicts, build peace and strengthen international security. By proposing a new European Peace Facility (EPF) the European Union is taking another step towards cementing its role as a global actor.

Representatives of the Consortium on implementation of the BORDER MANAGEMENT PROGRAMME IN CENTRAL ASIA – PHASE 9 (BOMCA 9), representatives of the State Services and Ministries of Turkmenistan involved in the implementation of BOMCA 9 Programme, representatives of the European Union Liaison office and of the EU MS Embassies accredited in Turkmenistan participated on 1 June in Ashgabat in the third National Steering Group meeting of BOMCA 9.

The EUSR met with the Chairperson of the Mejlis, Chairman of the International and Inter-parliamentary Relations Committee of the Mejlis, Deputy Chairman of the Cabinet of Ministers and Minister of Foreign Affairs, Chairman of the Democratic Party, Head of the Magtumguly Youth Union, and the Ombudsperson of Turkmenistan to discuss further development of the relations between the EU and Turkmenistan, as well as preparation of a new Strategy of the EU relations with Central Asia.

On 25 May, the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) will come into force. The Regulation updates and modernises the principles enshrined in the 1995 Data Protection Directive to guarantee privacy rights.

Sixty-eight years ago today, French foreign minister Robert Schuman proposed a joint authority to oversee French and German production of coal and steel, launching an ambitious and remarkable project which has shaped the course of European history and redefined Europe's place in the world.

This project – of peace, of partnership, of shared values and solidarity – is far from over.

Days of European Movies in Turkmenistan will take place in Ashgabat, Ashgabat Cinema, on 11-13 May 2018, with 11 participating movies from 10 countries of the EU