Delegation of the European Union to Trinidad and Tobago

EU Projects with Trinidad and Tobago

10/05/2016 - 15:18
Thematic Pages

Framework Agreements between the European Union and the African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) States

The Treaty of Rome,1957, which established the European Economic Community expressed solidarity with the colonies and overseas countries and territories and a commitment to contribute to their prosperity.

From 1963 onwards, development cooperation between the European Union and the ACP States has been governed by framework agreements; Yaoundé I (1963-69), Yaoundé II (1969-1975), Lomé I (1975-1980), Lomé II (1980-1985), Lomé III (1985-1990) and Lomé IV (1990-2000).

In 2000 the Cotonou Partnership Agreement was signed and ratified between the, at the time, 15 Member States of the European Union and 79 ACP States. The Agreement covers a period of 20 years and foresees revision of the Agreement every five years.

For each five-year cycle, a Country Strategy Paper (CSP) and a National Indicative Programme (NIP) is negotiated by the European Union and each ACP State. The CSP and NIP sets the development targets and establishes a budget plan. The funds stem from the European Development Fund (EDF). On a regional level, there is a Regional Strategy Paper (RSP) and a Regional Indicative Programme (RIP) also funded from the EDF.

Latest Projects
Case Studies

Editorial Sections: