Delegation of the European Union to Timor-Leste

About the EU Delegation in Timor-Leste

17/05/2016 - 16:06
About us - structure and organisation

The Delegation of the European Union to Timor-Leste — what it does, what it hopes to achieve and its staff.

The Delegation of the European Commission to Timor-Leste was opened on June 22nd 2007

Starting from 1 December 2009 with the Lisbon Treaty entering into force, the Delegation of the European Commission is transformed into the Delegation of the European Union to Timor-Leste.

The Delegation has the status of a diplomatic mission and officially represents the European Union in Timor-Leste.

The institutions of the European Union are the European Parliament, the Council of the European Union, the European Commission, the Court of Justice and the Court of Auditors.

On 1st July 2013 the European Union completed its sixth enlargement. Today the European Union is made up of 28 Members States, has a population of around 500 million and is the largest trading bloc in the world.

As described in the Cotonou agreement The Delegation's mandate is designed to establish a comprehensive partnership, based on three complementary pillars: development cooperation, economic and trade cooperation, and promotion of a more effective political dimension.

On the September 27th, I had the honour to present, to His Excellency the President of the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste, the credentials designating me as Ambassador, Head of the European Delegation in this country.

It is a triple honour.
To exert the function, corollary of a diplomatic career, with all its responsibilities and duties.
To be in Timor-Leste, a brother country of my own, to which I have dedicated many memorable years of my career, between 1999 and 2002, at Portugal’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs.
To represent the European Union, the most ambitious and well-succeeded project of peace and union between nations that are diverse (and sometimes conflicting during the long History of our continent), a reference in terms of democracy, rule of law, culture and social and environmental rights promotion, as well as solidarity - the world’s biggest cooperation donor.

Since its accession to full Independence, the young Timorese Nation has been able to achieve important development goals, including the consolidation of a democratic practice with the tenure of regular elections, what is to be noted and supported. Since early days, Timor-Leste could also count on the committed support of European Union, not only in the political and diplomatic realm, but also by major cooperation projects that provided, in general, good results. The recognition of this well-succeeded partnership came with the creation of a permanent Delegation of the European Union in Dili, in 2007.

For the future, it is important to keep working with Timor-Leste in the framework of our established political dialogue and the Cotonou Agreement main principles, in order to support the development of this country, to consolidate progresses already done and to face new and decisive challenges with determination, rigour and optimism, always looking to benefit the Timorese people as a whole. That’s the mission that, with a competent and motivated team, I intend to pursue in the next years.

Long live European Union, long live Timor-Leste!

Alexandre Leitao : Head of Delegation 
Telma Rayes Gieselmann : Secretary to the Head of Delegation
Alexandre Zafiriou: Political Counsellor


Simon Le Grand : Head of Section
Paolo Toselli : Programme officer
Paolo Barduagni : Programme officer
Joana Pliszka Ribeiro : Programme officer
Juvita Guterres : Programme officer
Johanes Bosco : Programme officer
Dulce Gusmão : Programme officer
Marlina Viegas : Secretary


Iveta Hronova : Finance & Contracts Officer
Nélia Chaves : Secretary



Audrey Picard : Head of Section
Wolfango Maia Ximenes : Administrative Assistant
Juvita Ximenes : Accounting Assistant
Maria Exposto : Secretary
Dionisio de Jesus : Receptionist 
Abel Maria Leão : Driver
Sidin Abdul Pinus : Driver

Editorial Sections: