Delegation of the European Union to Tanzania

Travel to the EU from Tanzania

17/05/2016 - 15:47
Travel to the EU

Useful information on travelling from Tanzania to the European Union (EU), such as embassies, and information for studying there.

When planning to visit a European country, please note that procedures for obtaining a visa would depend on whether you are planning to visit a country/countries part of the Schengen Agreement or not.

The Schengen visa was introduced in 1995. To date 26 European countries are part of the Schengen Area : Austria, Belgium, Czech republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, , Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden and for the three non-EU countries: Iceland, Norway and Switzerland.

A Schengen visa issued by an Embassy or Consulate of one of the Schengen countries allows the holder to travel freely in all Schengen States. For visits to Schengen countries, read carefully the General Schengen Visa Requirements which will also guide you to which Embassy you should apply.

For visits to Non-Schengen countries like Ireland, please contact the Embassies directly on travel requirements.

More information:

Embassy of Belgium
5, Barack Obama Road,
P. O. Box 9210,
Dar es  Salaam
Tel: (+255) 22 211 40 25
Fax: (+255) 22 211 76 21
Embassy of Germany
Umoja House, Hamburg Ave /Mirambo St., 2nd floor
P.O.Box 9541,
Dar es Salaam
Tel: 255-22-2117409-15
Fax: 255-22-2112944
Embassy of Denmark
Ghana Avenue 1
P. O. Box 9171,
Dar es Salaam.
Tel:+ 255 (22) 216 5200
Embassy of Spain
99B Kinondoni Road
P. O. Box 842,
Dar es Salaam
Phone: + 255 22 266 6018 / 19  
Fax: + 255 22 266 6938
Embassy of Finland
Corner of Mirambo Street and Hamburg Avenue
P. O. Box 2455
Dar Es Salaam
Tel: +255 22 2212 400
Fax: +255 22 2212 433
Embassy of France
Ali Hassan Mwinyi Road 7 (angle Kilimani Road)
PO Box 2349,
Dar es Salaam
Tel : +255 22 219 88 00
Fax : +255 22 219 88 15
Embassy of Ireland
353 Toure Drive, Masaki
Dar es Salaam
Postal Address: P.O. Box 9612
Tel: (+255 22) 260 2355/56; 2600629
Fax: (+255 22) 260 2362
Embassy of Italy
Lugalo Road, Plot 316  (Upanga)
P. O. Box 2106
Dar Es Salaam
Tel: +255 22 2115935/2115936
Embassy of Netherlands
Umoja House, 4th floor, Hamburg Avenue,
Dar es Salaam
P.O. Box 9534
Tel: +255 (0)22 219 4000
Fax: +255 (0)22 211 0044


Embassy of Poland

15 Mtwara Road,Oysterbay,

P. O. Box 249,

Dar es Salaam.

Tel: +255 22 2221 050



Embassy of Sweden
Corner of Mirambo Street/Hamburg Avenue
P. O. Box 9274
Dar es Salaam
Tel: +255 22 2196 500
Fax: +255 22 2196 503

Erasmus + Programme is a European Union umbrella programme in the field of education, training, youth, and sports. Within this programme the Erasmus Mundus Joint Masters Degrees aim to enhance the quality of European higher education and to help promote dialogue and understanding between people and cultures through cooperation with Third-Countries such as the United Republic of Tanzania. The international dimension of Erasmus+ contributes to the development of human resources and the international cooperation capacity of Higher education institutions in Third Countries by increasing mobility and cooperation between the European Union and these countries.

The Erasmus + Programme was launched in 2014 and provides support through scholarships and academic cooperation to:

  • Higher education institutions that wish to implement joint programmes at postgraduate level or to set-up inter-institutional cooperation partnerships between universities from Europe and targeted Third-Countries.
  • Individual students, researchers and university staff who wish to spend a study, research, or teaching period in the context of one of the above mentioned programmes. 

In the field of higher education, Erasmus+ supports the following main Actions targeting cooperation with Third Countries (also called Partner Countries):

  • International credit mobility of individuals and Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degrees promoting the mobility of learners and staff from and to Partner Countries;
  •  Capacity Building projects in higher education promoting cooperation and partnerships that have an impact on the modernisation and internationalisation of higher education institutions and systems in Partner Countries;
  • Support to institutions that wish to implement top-level joint Master programmes and highly attractive scholarships for students across the world to undertake their studies on these programmes;  
  • Jean Monnet activities with the aim of stimulating teaching, research and reflection in the field of European Union studies worldwide.

Many opportunities are also offered to doctoral candidates and researchers through the Marie Skłodowska Curie Actions:

How to apply:

Students and doctoral candidates from all over the world can apply, and there are opportunities for institutions to partner with European Union Institutions. Kindly consult the links below:

Study mobility:

Staff mobility:

Erasmus Mundus Joint Masters:

General Information on cooperation outside the EU: 


Twitter: @EUErasmusPlus

Erasmus Mundus Network in Tanzania:

Several Tanzanians are recipients of the Erasmus Mundus scholarship. They are part of EMA (Erasmus Mundus Students and Alumni Association) - . The EMA members in Tanzania meet regularly ( ). The network members aim at improving professional development and communication among members, and promoting the Erasmus Programme to Tanzanians. 

Secciones editoriales: