Delegation of the European Union to Tajikistan

About the EU Delegation to Tajikistan

10/05/2016 - 15:06
About us - structure and organisation

Delegation of the European Union to the Republic of Tajikistan


The Delegation of the European Union to the Republic of Tajikistan is one of over 130 European Union Delegations around the world.

The Delegation of the European Commission to the Republic of Tajikistan was established in Dushanbe in 2003 and officially accredited as a diplomatic representation in May 2004. It initially operated as a Regionalised Delegation under the authority of the Head of Delegation based in Kazakhstan (Alan Waddams since 2001, Adriaan van der Meer since 2005, Norbert Jousten since 2008) while its daily operations were supervised by a Chargé d'affaires a.i. (Ms B. Plinkert since 2004, Ms C. Adriaen since 2007). In 2009, the Delegation started to be upgraded into a fully-fledged Delegation, culminating with the arrival of a new resident Head of Delegation in January 2010.

Starting from 1 December 2009 with the Lisbon Treaty entering into force, the Delegation of the European Commission was transformed into the Delegation of the European Union to the Republic of Tajikistan.

The Delegation:

  • Ensures the representation of the European Union in the Republic of Tajikistan
  • Ensures the follow-up of bilateral relations in the areas of political, economic, trade and external assistance cooperation (financial and technical), in particular to implement the Partnership and Co-operation Agreement (PCA) ;
  • Ensures the follow-up of EU policies in all sectors; in particular the European Union and Central Asia: Strategy for a New Partnership ;
  • Promotes and defends the values and interests of the EU;
  • Promotes EU cooperation at a national and regional level (Central Asia) i.e. the management of de-concentrated national and regional programmes;
  • Contributes to coordination with EU Member State embassies, particularly in the fields of EU competence, notably trade and external assistance


EU Ambassador to Tajikistan Marilyn Josefson
EU Ambassador to Tajikistan Marilyn Josefson

Welcome to the new website of the Delegation of the European Union to Tajikistan.

Relations between Tajikistan and the EU are marking important threshold – on January 1 2015 it will be five years since the Partnership and Cooperation Agreement between the EU and Tajikistan entered into force.

The period behind, full of intensive and comprehensive cooperation laid ground for further enhancement of relations and EU support to Tajikistan, in numerous areas of need. Within the broader EU Central Asia Strategy, Tajikistan will continue to be important, relevant and reliable partner of the Union and its political agenda with the EEAS component in the EU Delegation in Dushanbe adding a particular note to our dialogue, in particular at this challenging point in time.  

The Delegation's website is here for interested public to stay informed about the many aspects of Tajik-EU cooperation: political dialogue that is gaining in importance against the background of strategic development in the region and beyond, intense development cooperation with numerous projects aiming to support economic and social advancement of Tajikistan, health, education, trade issues to name just a few.

The website will also be the main point of information on contract tenders, call for proposals or job publications.

I hope the website will become part of daily reading for everybody interested in strengthening of relation between the European Union and Tajikistan.

Thank you for visiting us. 

Head of Delegation/Ambassador
Delegation of the European Union to Tajikistan
74 Adhamov street
734013 Dushanbe
Republic of Tajikistan
Tel (+992 37) 221 74 07
Fax: (+992 37) 221 43 21

أقسام افتتاحية: