Delegation of the European Union to Sudan

Travel to the EU from Sudan

13/05/2016 - 17:26
Travel to the EU

Useful information on travelling from Sudan to the EU, such as visas, travel restrictions and consulates, and for studying there.

The European Union has 27 member states. The Delegation of the European Union does not issue or grant visas to travel to the Member States. All applicants are requested to apply through the Embassies of the European Member States present in Khartoum. To enter to the Member States of the European Union you can apply to a national visa or a Schengen Visa.

The Schengen visa can allow you to enter an area comprising of 26 European countries that have officially abolished all passport and all other types of border control at their mutual borders. The area mostly functions as a single jurisdiction for international travel purposes, with a common visa policy. The area is named after the 1985 Schengen Agreement signed in Schengen, Luxembourg.

The Schengen Visa will allow you to visit: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

To learn more about the Schengen Visa:

How to apply for a Schengen Visa?


Information on representations of EU Member States in Sudan can be found below:

Embassy of France
Address: Plot 11, Block 12, Street n° 13, Amarat, Khartoum
Telephone : + 249 183 471082
Fax : + 249 183 465928
Website :

Embassy of Germany
Address: Kafoury River Side Street, P.O.Box 970 North Khartoum
Tel: +249 185 34 96 22 /+249 185 34 96 23

Embassy of Italy
Address: P.O.Box: 793, 11111 Khartoum
Tel: + 249 183 183 471615/ 6/ 7
Fax: + 249 183 183 471217

Embassy of Netherlands
Address: Street 47, House No: 76, Khartoum 2, Khartoum
Tel: + 249 183 47 1200
Fax:+ 249 183 46 9386

Embassy of Romania
Address: Kassala Road, Kafouri Area, North Khartoum
Telephone: + 249 183 338114
Fax: + 249 183 341497

Embassy of Spain
Address: P.O. Box 274, Building No.1, Block No. 7/A, Buri Al Daraisa, Khartoum
Telephone: + 249 183 763639
Fax: + 249 183 741386

Embassy of Sweden
Address: Street 43 Amarat, Khartoum
Tel: + 249 183 470803
Fax: + 249 183 470803

Embassy of Hungary in Cairo (Office in Khartoum)
Address: Osman Digna Street Plot 2/1 Block 9E East of Khartoum
Phone: +249900915485
N.B. (Office provides Consular services and not visa activities)

Goethe-Institut Sudan
Address: Al Nugumi Street, Khartoum , P.O.B. 1866
Tel: +249 (0)183 777 833
Fax: +249 (0)183 779 377

Institut Français
Address: Ali Dinar Street, Khartoum
Tel: +249 (0)1 83 79 80 35
Fax: +249(0)1 83 77 51 39

Since 2016, Sudanese students, researchers and higher education institutions are be able to benefit from the EU Programme Erasmus Plus.

Erasmus Plus is the European Union’s programme for education, training, youth and sport. Between 2014 and 2020, it will provide opportunities for four million people to study, train and gain life experience abroad.

Erasmus Plus replaces a number of older programmes, including an international exchange programme called Erasmus Mundus. See the Erasmus+ web portal’s Resources section for information about linguistic support, documents for applicants and the management of proposals.

The link:

How to apply:

Editorial Sections: