Delegation of the European Union to the Republic of Korea

North Korea: Council aligns its sanction lists with the latest UN Security Council resolution

11/08/2017 - 04:17
Voices and views

The Council has added 9 persons and 4 entities - including the state-owned Foreign Trade Bank (FTB) - to the lists of those subject to an asset freeze and  travel restrictions, transposing part of the new sanctions imposed by UN Security Council resolution 2371 (2017).

This resolution was adopted on 5 August 2017 in response to the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK)'s ongoing nuclear-weapon and ballistic missile-development activities, in violation and flagrant disregard of previous UN Security Council resolutions.

The decision brings the total number of persons under restrictive measures against the DPRK to 62 persons and 50 entities as listed by the UN. In addition, 41 persons and 7 entities are designated by the EU autonomously.

The Council will work on the swift transposition of the other sanctions included in UN security Council resolution 2371.

The EU has implemented all UN Security Council resolutions adopted in response to the DPRK's nuclear programmes and nuclear weapons, other weapons of mass destruction and ballistic missile programmes. In addition, the EU has also imposed autonomous restrictive measures against the DPRK, complementing and reinforcing the UN sanctions regime.

The legal acts were adopted by written procedure. They will be published in the Official Journal of 11 August.

بخش‌های سردبیری: