Delegation of the European Union to Rwanda

ACP-EU Cullture Programme: Ignite Culture - Call for Proposal for creative and cultural operators for the Eastern Africa Region

01/09/2021 - 15:11
News stories

ACP-EU Culture Programme: Ignite Culture

ACP-EU Culture Programme: Ignite Culture is a new and exciting grant facility for the cultural and creative sectors in 14 countries in Eastern Africa! This Eastern Africa focused fund is part of the global ACP-EU Culture Programme which is being implemented by HEVA , in partnership with the British Council Kenya with the financial contribution of the European Union, and with further support from the Organisation of ACP (African, Carribean and Pacific) States .

This funding will help successful applicants develop programs and projects to grow their own ventures, and do cultural work and support within their target communities. It will also go a long way towards making their efforts more sustainable. Alongside supporting creative and cultural workers to grow their businesses, enter and adapt to expanded and digital marketplaces, and upgrade their workspaces and collaborations, the facility will support efforts around building skills, and developing ways to enable better working environments for creative businesses.

Through grant financing of between 30,000 Euros and 180,000 Euro, this financial support should be directed towards the following activities: 

  • increased and improved production of creative and cultural goods and services, 
  • skills building, 
  • upgrading of hardware and software, 
  • improved access to financing and a supportive policy and business environment, 
  • expanding access to local, regional and international markets, as well as
  • improving visibility for creative and cultural practitioners and their work throughout the Eastern Africa region.

Calls for proposals will be released in 2021, 2022, and 2023 for projects that support the growth and development of the cultural and creative sectors of Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda. 

The call for applications opens on Wednesday 11 August 2021 and ends on 15 September 2021! Please find the guidelines for applications in the documents below which provides full details on the programme and eligibility requirements.   

For more information, check out:

Редакционные разделы :