Delegation of the European Union to the Philippines

“Teatro Europa, The Second Edition” starts on 16 July 16 European theatre plays from 16 PH Universities to participate

16/07/2021 - 07:47
News stories

Laughter, giggles, tears, anguish, sighs, trepidation. These are some of the emotions expected to fill up the (virtual) air, as Teatro Europa returns for the second time after its success last year.  

Feel the rage and range of raw emotions!

Teatro Europa comes back this year with table reads from 16 to 30 July, with full video performances from 1 to 31 August and re-runs from 1 to 30 September on its official Facebook Page Teatro Europa  @TeatroEuropaPH.   

The European Union Delegation to the Philippines, together with the EU Member States, their EU cultural institutes, and importantly our 16 University partners, proudly opens its theater festival “Teatro Europa, The Second Edition.”

Sixteen European theatre plays from famous playwrights will be showcased to share with you European culture.

These masterpieces carefully curated from Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Spain, and Sweden focus on genres such as comedy, tragedy, drama and romance.

 “Theatre is a mirror of all human emotions and helps to better understand Europe and its culture, from the plays played in ancient Greece to the current online performances,” says EU Ambassador Luc Véron.  “Teatro Europa provides a platform for artistic Filipino youth to share their talents in acting, directing and production design”.

Following its success with 300,000 viewers in 2020, the EU welcomes this year 16 participating universities from all over the country with new universities from Metro Manila, Baguio, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Iloilo City, Bacolod City, and Ozamiz City from the original seven theatre groups that participated in 2020.  

Our 16 partner universities performing theater pieces include:

  1. Colegio de San Juan de Letran – Taruffe by Moliere of France
  2. Saint Louis University – Rur by Karel Čapek of the Czech Republic
  3. Wesleyan University – Pariah by August Strindberg of Sweden
  4. University of the East – Life’s a Dream by Pedro Calderon de la Barca of Spain
  5. University of Makati – The Horrid Little Princess by Geneviève Damas of Belgium
  6. Meridian International College - The Salt Princess (Hungarian Folktale) of Hungary
  7. University of San Agustin – Snow by Stanislaw Przybyszewski of Poland
  8. La Salle University – Erasmus Montanus by Ludvig Holberg of Denmark
  9. Mapua University – Riders to the Sea by John Millington Synge of Ireland
  10. Jose Rizal University – The Birds by Aristophanes of Greece
  11. Arellano University – II Vero Amico by Carlo Goldoni of Italy
  12. Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Marikina – Lucifer by Josst van den Vondel of the Netherlands
  13. First City Providential College – La Ronde by Arthur Schnitzler of Austria
  14. Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Valenzuela – My Three Angels by Sam and Bella Spewack of Romania
  15. University of St. La Salle – Broken Heart Story by Saara Turunen of Finland
  16. Rizal Technological University – Leonce and Lena by Georg Büchner of Germany

While “Teatro Europa, The Second Edition” is still primarily a virtual theater festival there are new and exciting things to expect. As the government opens up the economy more, the festival will hold a limited physical performance in late August in the walled city of Intramuros.

A series of webinar with known theatre directors will also be held during the Teatro Europa season. This webinars aim to engage discussions on the similarities, intersections and differences between Philippine Theater and European Theater.

Please also stay tuned on our page @TeatroEuropaPH for our fun trivia games.




Bộ phận Biên tập:

Tác giả