Delegation of the European Union to the Philippines

Travelling to and studying in the EU

31/08/2018 - 18:46
Travel to the EU

This page provides information on travelling to and from the EU and Turkey, as well as issues relating to study trips and accessing information about the EU.

The EU has a common visa policy for short stays (up to 3 months), which is applied through the Schengen visa scheme. Visas for visits exceeding that period remain subject to national procedures
Citizens from some non-EU countries are required to hold a visa when travelling to the Schengen Area. Turkey is among the countries for which that visa is required. However, Member States may exempt Turkish citizens from the above visa requirement holding diplomatic passports, service/official passports or special passports.

Generally, a short-stay visa issued by one of the Schengen countries entitles its holder to travel throughout the 26 Schengen countries for up to 90 days in any 180-day period.

The EU's common list of countries whose citizens must have a visa when crossing the external borders and a list of countries whose citizens are exempt from that requirement are set out in Regulation (EU) 2018/1806.
Information about visas for travelling to Turkey is available through this Turkish government webpage.

The EU launched the Visa Liberalisation Dialogue with Turkey in December 2013 which is still ongoing.

The consulates of the Schengen States in Turkey are responsible for implementing the Community’s Visa rules.

Currently, 24 out of the 26 Schengen States have consulates in Turkey, extended by a large network of Visa Application Centres throughout the country. Iceland is represented by its Honorary Consulate and Liechtenstein is represented by Switzerland.

Consulates of the Schengen States in Turkey

  • Ankara (19): Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Slovakia and Spain.
  • Istanbul (15): Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.
  • Izmir (3): Germany, Greece and Italy.
  • Edirne (1): Greece
Editorial Sections: