Delegation of the European Union to Pakistan

Travel to the EU from Pakistan

11/05/2016 - 18:10
Travel to the EU

The European Union considers the freedom of movement a fundamental right of its citizens. The border-free Schengen Area provides free movement to more than 400 million EU citizens, as well as to many non-EU nationals, businessmen, tourists or other persons legally present on the EU territory.

The EU Delegation to Pakistan does not issue passports or visas. Passports and visas are issued by the Embassy and/or Consulate of each individual EU Member State. Citizens of Pakistan require Schengen visa for travelling in the Schengen area counties and a National visa for travelling to the EU Member States outside the Schengen zone. At present the Schengen Area comprises of most of the EU Member States, except for Bulgaria, Cyprus, Ireland and Romania. However, Bulgaria and Romania are currently in the process of joining the Schengen Area. Of non-EU States, Iceland, Norway and Switzerland have joined the Schengen Area and Liechtenstein is expected to join soon. The Schengen visa entitles the visitor to enter one country and travel freely throughout the Schengen zone. Pakistani nationals should contact the EU Member State's Embassy or Consulate in Pakistan for obtaining the required Schengen or National Visa of their travel destination in Europe.

WARNING: The Delegation of the European Union does not facilitate nor is involved in any migration, including employment migration, scheme in/to Europe. If you receive mails that suggest the same, kindly inform the Delegation of the European Union through the mailbox DELEGATION PAKISTAN at DELEGATION-PAKISTAN@EEAS.EUROPA.EU. The Delegation advises not to share any personal data nor send money to individuals or organisations that fraudulently use the name of the Delegation. Affected individuals are invited to report such schemes to national law enforcement authorities for inquiry and remedy.

Schengen – Harmonised List of Supporting Documents

On 24 October, the European Commission adopted an implementing decision that establishes the list of supporting documents to be submitted by Pakistan-based applicants (Pakistani nationals or long term residents) for short stay visas to the Schengen zone.

The list ("annex III") defines the type of supporting documentation that Pakistan-based "Schengen" visa applicants must submit as well as specific documents depending on the nature of the stay when placing their request to the appropriate Schengen mission in Pakistan. These required documents come besides submitting passport, application form, photos and travel medical insurance.

PDF iconFactsheet on New Visa Rules

General information on EU visa policy can be retrieved at

Erasmus+ is the European Union’s programme for education, training, youth and sport. Between 2014 and 2020, it will provide opportunities for four million people to study, train and gain life experience abroad.

Erasmus+ replaces a number of older programmes, including an international exchange programme called Erasmus Mundus.

See the Erasmus+ web portal’s Resources section for information about linguistic support, documents for applicants and the management of proposals. Please click here to find the factsheet for Pakistan.