Delegation of the European Union to Nigeria and ECOWAS

About the EU Delegation to Nigeria

12/05/2016 - 15:28
About us - structure and organisation

The EU Delegation to the Federal Republic of Nigeria and ECOWAS is a full diplomatic mission representing the European Union in Nigeria, with concurrent accreditation to the regional economic body, ECOWAS, headquartered in Abuja.

The Delegation of the European Union to Nigeria and to ECOWAS is part of the European Union External Service, and is one of the 140 Delegations throughout the world.

The European Union is made up of 27 Member States, has a population of around 500 million and is the largest trading bloc in the world. Nigeria is a key strategic partner of the European Union, being Africa's most populous nation and its biggest economy. It is the biggest EU diplomatic hub in the continent.

The activities of the Delegation of the European Union in Nigeria are developed in close coordination with the Member States of the European Union with diplomatic representation in the country. 19 out of the current 27 Member States are accredited in Nigeria: Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Ireland, Greece, Spain, France, Italy, Hungary, the Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Finland and Sweden.  

The Delegation's mandate includes the following:

  • To actively promote the values and policies of the European Union, in an open and equal partnership with the Government and people of Nigeria;
  • To deepen the political dialogue on all issues of mutual interest and to strengthen the partnership both with Nigeria and ECOWAS ;
  • To implement the EU Common Foreign and Security Policy, the development and trade policies focusing on poverty alleviation and on the promotion of democracy, Human Rights and the Rule of Law as well as the smooth and gradual integration of developing countries into the world economy;
  • To inform Nigeria and ECOWAS about the policies and programmes of the European Union, as well as its institutions and values;
  • To support regional integration in the Economic Community of West African States as well as the planned development of Pan-African policies, programmes and institutions.

The European Commission is one of the institutions of the European Union, the others being the European Parliament, the Council of the European Union, the Court of Justice and the Court of Auditors.

The Ambassador/Head of the Delegation, Ketil Karlsen, arrived in Nigeria in August 2017.

As the Head of EU Delegation to Nigeria and to ECOWAS, Ambassador Karlsen represents the EU in its diplomatic engagements and multi-faceted bilateral cooperation with both Nigeria and the regional body. He regularly engages with government officials, development partners, the civil society, the business and the diplomatic communities and the media to explain the policies, programmes and values of the European Union.

The EU Head of Delegation provides the lead in the regular political dialogue with Nigerian authorities; oversees the implementation of development aids and negotiates trade deals. Ambassador Karlsen is passionate about the EU-West Africa Economic Partnership Agreement, which he believes will help the region's competitiveness, enhance its trade and unleash its economic potentials.

It is hoped that this website will keep visitors well informed on the activities of the EU in Nigeria and beyond.

Head, Democracy, Governance and Migration Section
EU Delegation to the Federal Republic of Nigeria and the Economic Community of West African States
Telephone: (+234) 09-461 7800 Ext. 207
Editorial Sections: