Delegation of the European Union to Myanmar

2019 Schuman Awards: Call for Nominations

16/01/2019 - 07:17

The European Union in Myanmar recognises outstanding merits in the promotion of universal values of democracy, rule of law and human rights with the 2019 Schuman Awards.

The European Union together with its member states represented in Myanmar calls for nominations for the 2019 Schuman Awards. This 3rd edition of the Schuman Awards in Myanmar will be dedicated to personalities who stand out for their engagement in defence of democracy, rule of law and human rights. Awardees can be activists, researchers, politicians, social workers, journalists, lawyers or any other profession – what matters is the impact of their action, not their position.

The Schuman Awards are named after Robert Schuman, a former French foreign minister and one of the visionaries who contributed to the foundation of the European Union. The Schuman Awards were first launched at the occasion of the 60th anniversary of the Rome Treaty in 2017 to recognize outstanding work of Myanmar personalities in promoting democracy, rule of law, human rights and tolerance. The first Schuman Awardees were NLD lawyer U Ko Ni (post-humous), director of the Nyein (Shalom) Foundation Daw Ja Nan Lataw and U Aung Myo Min, executive director of Equality Myanmar. In 2018 – the year of the 70th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the Schuman Awards were dedicated to three human rights advocates: Ko Swe Win, chief editor of Myanmar Now; human rights activist Cheery Zahau and women's rights activist Daw Khin Than Htwe.

Individuals and organisations can nominate candidates for the 2019 Schuman Awards. Nominations should be sent by email to using this nomination form:

Deadline for nominations is 27 January 2019. Late submissions will not be considered.

The Schuman Awards will be presented on 14 February 2019 at a ceremony hosted by the European Union Ambassador to Myanmar, Kristian Schmidt.

Editorial Sections: