Délégation de l'Union européenne au Royaume du Maroc

Middle East and North Africa (MENA)

15/06/2016 - 12:29
EU relations with Region

The policy of the European Union towards the North African and Middle Eastern countries seeks to encourage political and economic reform in each individual country in due respect for its specific features and regional cooperation among the countries of the region themselves and with the EU.

The policy of the EU towards the North African and Middle Eastern countries has two main objectives:

Via the Middle East Peace process, the European Union is actively supporting efforts to resolve the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and is also a member of the so-called Middle East Quartet (US, EU, Russia and UN)

EU relations with Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and United Arab Emirates mainly takes the shape of a region-to-region relationship with the Gulf Cooperation Council.

The EU has bilateral relations with Iran, Iraq and Yemen.