Delegation of the European Union to the Republic of Moldova

About the EU Delegation to the Republic of Moldova

12/05/2016 - 14:56
About us - structure and organisation

The EU Delegation to Moldova — what it does, what it hopes to achieve and its staff.

The Delegation of the European Union to the Republic of Moldova was opened in the centre of Chisinau, in October 2005.

The Delegation has the status of a diplomatic mission and officially represents the European Union in the Republic of Moldova.

The European Commission is one of the institutions of the European Union, the others being the European Parliament, the Council of the European Union, the Court of Justice and the Court of Auditors.

The accession of Romania and Bulgaria on the 1 January 2007 completed the fifth enlargement of the EU that had started in May 2004. Today the European Union is made up of 28 Member States; it has a population of around 499 million and is the largest trading bloc in the world.

Delegations such as the one in Moldova exist all over the world. Altogether there are over 130.

The Delegation's mandate includes the following:

  • To promote the political and economic relations between the countries of accreditation and the European Union by maintaining extensive relations with governmental institutions and by increasing awareness of the EU, it’s institutions and its programmes;

  • To monitor the implementation of the Partnership and Cooperation Agreements (PCA) between the EU and Moldova;

  • To inform the public of the development of the EU and to explain and defend individual EU policies;

  • To participate in the implementation of the European Union's external assistance programmes (mainly TACIS, FSP, ENPI), which focus on supporting democratic development and good governance, supporting regulatory reform and administrative capacity building, and supporting poverty reduction and economic growth.

Good afternoon, my name is Peter Michalko and I am the new head of the European Union Delegation to the Republic of Moldova.

I am very glad and it is an honor for me to take over this position after my predecessors.

I am here to contribute to the development of the relationship and partnership between the European Union and the Republic of Moldova. This will be the essence of my mandate.

I have gladly returned to the Republic of Moldova. I’ve visited your country first 22 years ago, since then I’ve lived and returned to pay visits many times in my diplomatic service at the European Union or Slovakia, a member state from which I come.

In the meantime, the European Union and the Republic of Moldova have reached cooperation on solid ground.

We have the Association Agreement, the possibility to travel visa free to EU states and a very high level of assistance provided by the European Union for the reform process in the Republic of Moldova.

This time my mission here is to work on daily basis with my colleagues from the Delegation of the European Union, with European institutions and member states to support state institutions and the society of the Republic of Moldova in close cooperation with all political, economic, social partners and the civil society.

The main objective of these efforts is the development and improvement of the situation of the population of the Republic of Moldova, which is and will always remain the final and main beneficiary of our assistance.

Me and my family are happy that we’ll be able to live next to our old and new friends, which we hope we’ll make here together with you, in this beautiful country – the Republic of Moldova.

Peter Michalko

Head of Delegation: Peter Michalko

Deputy Head of Delegation: Urszula Pałłasz

Assistant to the HoD: Frauke Herms

Political, Press and Information Section

Head of Section: Urszula Pałłasz 

Political Officer / EU Liaison Officer on Human Rights Defenders: Olga Beinaroviča

Political Officer: Elena-Alina Doroftei

Political Officer: Vilhelm Rundquist

Trade Officer: Vasile Plamadeala

Press and Information Officer: Luciano Scambiato Licciardi 

Secretary - Assistant: Tatiana Popovschi

Operations Section

Head of Section: Marco Gemmer

Deputy Head of Section: Gintautas Baranauskas

Project Management: Aurica Butnari, Eduard Pesendorfer, Ekaterina Yakovleva, Fabien Schaeffer, Christian Ballaro, Iuliana Stratan, Iva Stamenova, Mia Dubois-Boussaid, Steven Daniels, Tsvetomir Svilenov, Victoria Neaga, Victoria Onofreiciuc

Secretary: Cristina Sirghii

Project Management Assistant:

Projects Assistant Communication and Visibility: Irina Besliu

Finance, Contracts and Audit Section

Head of Section: Agata Stasiak

Deputy Head of Section: Magdalena Hetmańczyk-Pędzik

Finance & Contracts Officer: Heike Krickel, Catalina Ostalep, Olga Stratu, Irina Ghenciu, Ecaterina Mocanu

Secretary - Assistant: Angela Cerba

Administration Section

Head of Administration: Natalie Dolezalova

Administrative Assistant: Irina Musteata

Accounting Assistant: Rodica Scobioala

Secretary: Viorica Popovici

Drivers: Igor Voleanschi, Ion Costin, Mihai Trandafir


Official Closure Dates in 2019
January 1, 7, 8
March 8
April 28, 29
May 1, 6, 9
August 27, 31
October 14
December 25


Head of the Delegation: 
Peter Michalko
Human Rights Focal Point
Olga Beinaroviča, Political Officer, Political, Press and Information Section
E-mail: (to indicate in the subject: to be addressed to Olga Beinaroviča)
For all media inquiries, please contact:
Luciano Scambiato Licciardi, Press and Information Officer


Opening Hours: 
Monday - Friday
09.00 - 18.00 (lunch break 13.00-14.30)


Rubriques éditoriales: