Delegation of the European Union to the Republic of Moldova

About the EU Delegation to the Republic of Moldova

Sediul Delegaţiei Uniunii Europene în Republica Moldova
Sediul Delegaţiei Uniunii Europene în Republica Moldova

The Delegation of the European Union to the Republic of Moldova was opened in the centre of Chisinau, in October 2005.

The Delegation has the status of a diplomatic mission and officially represents the European Union in the Republic of Moldova.

The European Commission is one of the institutions of the European Union, the others being the European Parliament, the Council of the European Union, the Court of Justice and the Court of Auditors.

The accession of Romania and Bulgaria on the 1 January 2007 completed the fifth enlargement of the EU that had started in May 2004. Today the European Union is made up of 28 Member States; it has a population of around 499 million and is the largest trading bloc in the world.

Delegations such as the one in Moldova exist all over the world. Altogether there are over 130.

The Delegation's mandate includes the following:

  • To promote the political and economic relations between the countries of accreditation and the European Union by maintaining extensive relations with governmental institutions and by increasing awareness of the EU, it’s institutions and its programmes;

  • To monitor the implementation of the Partnership and Cooperation Agreements (PCA) between the EU and Moldova;

  • To inform the public of the development of the EU and to explain and defend individual EU policies;

  • To participate in the implementation of the European Union's external assistance programmes (mainly TACIS, FSP, ENPI), which focus on supporting democratic development and good governance, supporting regulatory reform and administrative capacity building, and supporting poverty reduction and economic growth.

Ambasador Pirkka Tapiola
Ambasador Pirkka Tapiola

Dear Friends,

Welcome to the website of the EU Delegation to the Republic of Moldova.

The EU – Moldova relationship is both coming closer and deepening, in the spirit of political association and economic integration. An Association Agreement, including a Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area, was initialled at the Eastern Partnership Summit in Vilnius, on 29 November 2013 and signed in 2014.

This agreement is very ambitious. It demonstrates the EU's deep commitment to Moldova, and especially to her citizens. It is a tool for modernisation, providing a framework for reforms which will enable Moldova's development towards further strengthening of democracy and the Rule of Law and building prosperity. In helping this process, the EU commits on average over 100 million euros of support to Moldova, the highest amount for any country in the EU's neighbourhood per capita terms. This support is aimed at supporting key reforms, but also building confidence and strengthening common interests between the two banks of the Nistru River.

I hope our website will serve as a good tool for you to find out more about what the EU and the Republic of Moldova are doing together in support of development to the benefit of the entire Moldovan population. You will also learn from it more about the development of the overall EU – Republic of Moldova relationship, and – last but not least – the development of EU foreign policy globally. Please do not hesitate to contact us with further questions and comments, including recommendations what kind of additional information you would need from our website.

In addition to this website, I also invite you to visit our Facebook page.

With warm greetings,

Pirkka Tapiola


Head of the European Union Delegation to Moldova


Head of Delegation: Peter Michalko

Assistant to the HoD: Kristina Vlondis

Political, Press and Information Section

Head of Section: Urszula Pałłasz 

Political Officer / EU Liaison Officer on Human Rights Defenders: Olga Beinarovica

Political Officer: Elena-Alina Doroftei

Trade Officer: Vasile Plamadeala

Press and information Officer: Ruxandra Stanciu

Secretary - Assistant: Tatiana Popovschi

Operations Section

Head of Section: Aneil Singh

Deputy Head of Section: Marco Gemmer

Project Management: Alexandre Darras, Alexandru Mocanu, Ekaterina Yakovleva, Elena Madan, Fabien Schaeffer, Christian Ballaro, Iva Stamenova, Jordi Rodriguez-Ruiz, Speranța Olaru, Steven Daniels, Tsvetomir Svilenov, Victoria Neaga, Victoria Onofreiciuc

Secretary: Cristina Sirghii

Project Management Assistant: Irina Besliu

Finance, Contracts and Audit Section

Head of Section: Todor Todoriev

Assistant: Magdalena Hetmańczyk-Pędzik

Finance & Contracts Officer: Heike Krickel, Catalina Ostalep, Olga Stratu, Ecaterina Mocanu

Secretary - Assistant: Angela Cerba

Administration Section

Head of Administration: Pernille Andersen

Administrative Assistant: Irina Musteata

Accounting Assistant: Rodica Scobioala

Secretary: Aliona Murzac

Drivers: Igor Voleanschi, Ion Costin, Mihai Trandafir


Official Closure Dates in 2017
January 1, 7, 8
March 8
April 16, 17, 24
May 1, 9
June 1
August 27, 31
October 14
December 25


Head of the Delegation: 
Pirkka Tapiola


Opening Hours: 
Monday - Friday
09.00 - 18.00 (lunch break 13.00-14.30)


Editorial Sections: