Delegation of the European Union to Libya

Travel to the EU from Libya

12/05/2016 - 12:21
Travel to the EU

The EU Delegation does not issue visas.

Visa requirements for visiting the EU are as follows:

Schengen area (26 countries)

Libyan nationals must have a visa when travelling to the Schengen area.

Generally, a short-stay visa issued by any Schengen country entitles its holder to travel in any of the 26 countries for up to 3 months (in a 6-month period).

For longer visits, you will need to obtain a visa from the national authorities in the country/ies concerned.

Schengen visa holders are usually required to enter the Schengen area via the country that issued the visa.

Non-Schengen (6 countries)

Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania and the UK are not part of the Schengen area.

To travel in these countries, contact the national authorities about visa requirements. 

More on EU visas

Erasmus Plus programme

This programme provides opportunities to:

  • study
  • train
  • gain work experience
  • volunteer abroad

It also supports partnerships between education, training, and youth organisations in different countries.


Specifically, the programme offers scholarships to students and academics for:

  • Erasmus Mundus Masters (138 courses available)
  • Joint Doctorates (43 courses available)

Students must study in at least 2 of the participating institutions and will receive a joint, double or multiple degree.


All student scholarships cover tuition fees, travel and living expenses in Europe for the full duration of the course.

  • Erasmus Mundus Masters – around €25,000 a year.
  • Masters Course – around €2,400 for a 2-week stay
  • Masters Course – around €14,800 for a 3-month work assignment
  • Fellowships for doctoral candidates – up to €129,900 for 3 years

Who is eligible?

  • Students from all over the world who have completed the required studies for admission
  • Academic staff from outside the EU, who lecture or conduct .

More information

Редакционные разделы :