Delegation of the European Union to Liberia

Our Office

20/12/2016 - 14:20
About us - structure and organisation

Welcome Statement

I arrived in Liberia early September 2017, during the electoral campaign period, and that has given me the possibility to quickly learn the challenges facing the country, but also to discover the assets that make Liberia so unique.

Liberia still remains a fragile country, after a long period of civil unrest, and after the more recent painful event of the Ebola crisis. The country is now enjoying peace and stability, and is gradually recovering economically, despite the impact of the drop in prices of its main commodities, such as rubber or iron ore. Liberians have shown an incredible and laudable capacity of resilience. The European Union has always been an important partner, in particular in the darkest moments and will remain a credible and valuable player for the future. As the EU Ambassador, together with my team composed of Africans - mostly Liberians - and EU nationals, I will endeavour to maintain the high quality of our partnership.   

Liberians are in the process of electing a new President, who will have to continue tackling the basic needs of the population such as education, health and infrastructure, but also the necessity to address global or regional challenges such as climate change, radicalisation or job creation.

The European Union has an important portfolio of cooperation with Liberia, mixing several instruments and sources of financing, mostly concentrating on governance, agriculture, energy and education, and delivering through both Government and civil society organisations. Also, the European Union has continental and regional cooperation with ECOWAS and the African Union and the links and the partnership we have developed at all levels are stronger, year after year and will continue.

More information can be found on this website, and I sincerely hope you will find it useful. You should also be able to find more general information about EU policies and activities of all EU institutions.

If you want to contact any of the sections of the Delegation, please use the following email addresses:


Head of Delegation

Ambassador Hélène Cavé


Assistant to the Head of Delegation

Jocelyne Ntirenganya


Head of Political, Information and Communication Section

Emma Sundblad


Head of Cooperation Section 1 – Political and Economic Governance

Hans Lambrecht


Head of Cooperation Section 2 - Infrastructure and Social Sectors

Ioannis Tzartzas


Head of Cooperation Section 3 –Resilience

Alberto Menghini


Head of Contracts & Finance Section

Anna Karamat


Head of Administration Section

Eric-Jean Van Hemelryck


Press & Information Officer

Weah Karpeh


Editorial Sections: