Delegation of the European Union to Lesotho

About the EU Delegation to Lesotho

12/05/2016 - 12:05
About us - structure and organisation

Delegation of the European Union to Lesotho

Since the establishment of the European Union Delegation in the Kingdom of Lesotho in March 1976, our mandate includes managing and promoting friendly relations between the European Union and Lesotho through diplomacy, political and policy dialogues as well as through our cooperation programmes. Our partnership is broad and comprehensive with a central objective of eradicating poverty through sustainable development and fair trade.

Over the period 2014-2020, the EU and its partners in Lesotho have agreed to concentrate cooperation in three priority sectors in the framework of the 11th European Development Fund (EDF): i) water, ii) sustainable energy, and iii) good governance and social protection. In addition, EU assistance will enable civil society to play its vital role in Lesotho, in particular to promote social responsibility and participation. The support being provided in these key areas is vital to both improving living standards for the Basotho people and ensuring a sound basis for sustainable socio-economic development.

While development assistance has been for long the main focus of the work of the Delegation, political relations, trade, human rights, security issues, and cultural diplomacy are becoming increasingly the focus of attention.

Head of Delegation

  • Paola AMADEI

Assistant to the Head of Delegation


Head of Cooperation

  • Mario VARRENTI 

Head of Finance and Contracts

  • Olivier  BOGUET (Resident in Pretoria)

Head of Administration

  • Bojana DRAKSLER

Political Officer

  • David HEALY

Press and Information Officer

  • Mookho MAKHETHA


Editorial Sections: