Delegation of the European Union to Lebanon

About the EU Delegation to Lebanon

12/05/2016 - 12:00
About us - structure and organisation

The European Union (EU) is represented in Lebanon by the EU Delegation, one of 140 EU Delegations around the world.

The EU is composed of 27 individual Member States and the EU Delegation works closely with all of the 24 Member States  that are accredited to Lebanon.

Following the entry into force of the Lisbon Treaty on 1 December 2009, the EU has set up a unified diplomatic service called the European External Action Service (EEAS). EU Delegations are part of the EEAS. The EU Delegation now represents the European Union as a whole, with the Head of Delegation or Ambassador accredited as the official representative of the EU.

The EU Delegation functions much like an embassy and represents the EU in its dealings with political issues, trade, development, cooperation, etc. Consular protection of EU citizens is provided by individual Member States Embassies and their Consulates.

Through its engagement with political actors, civil society, the private sector, academics, the media and citizens, the EU Delegation raises awareness of EU issues and concerns, and promotes the importance of the EU-Lebanon partnership among the Lebanese authorities and the broader Lebanese public. At the political level, the EU supports an independent, sovereign, unified and stable Lebanon, and encourages Lebanon to fulfil its international obligations and to implement an ambitious agenda of political, economic and social reforms.

The EU Delegation has four main tasks:

  • represent EU interests,
  • promote cooperation with and among EU Member States in Lebanon,
  • support the reform agenda of the Lebanese government, and
  • ensure that the EU cooperation benefits those mostly in need.

The Association Agreement signed in 2002 and the European Neighbourhood Policy (ENP) Action Plan constitute the main framework of current relations between the EU and Lebanon.

The EU Delegation was established in Lebanon in 1979 as the Delegation of the European Commission. It employs more than 100 European and Lebanese staff members and is headed by Ambassador Ralph Tarraf.

The EU, the Member States and the European Investment Bank currently execute a total budget of more than €2.2 billion of assistance to Lebanon, including approximately €1.3 billion of grants and €0.9 billion of loans.

The EU cooperation focuses mainly on promoting programmes which support political, economic and social reforms, local governance, demining and refugees. Efforts to reform key sectors such as security, justice, good governance, social protection, support to civil society, education, energy, environment, agriculture and fundamental rights are particularly encouraged since they all aim at supporting sustainable growth and at reducing regional disparities in Lebanon.

Ralph Tarraf is currently the Ambassador of the European Union to Lebanon.

He is a German diplomat who was previously the Representative of the European Union in Jerusalem, covering the West Bank, Gaza Strip and UNRWA.

Before being assigned to Jerusalem, he served as the Ambassador of the Federal Republic of Germany to the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan.

His former diplomatic assignments include the posts of Head of the Middle East Division and Deputy Head of Policy Planning Staff in the German Foreign Ministry, Head of Strategic Outreach and Communication Division in the Cabinet of Head of Federal Chancellery, and Deputy Head of Mission at the German Embassy in Khartoum, Sudan.

Ambassador Tarraf holds a Master of Art in Sociology and Comparative Religious Studies from the University of Tübingen.

Editorial Sections: